History of number plates

  • Metro News
  • Thursday, 09 Jul 2020

Vehicle plates in Perak began with the letter A after 1945 as the first vehicle owners were from that state.

Before this, cars were registered under PK.

The letter B was given to Selangor as it was the second state to register car ownership, followed by Pahang which was given the letter C and then Kelantan, where the plates would begin with the letter D.

Subsequently, vehicle plates were based on the initial letter of each state such as J for Johor, K for Kedah and M for Melaka.

Perlis had to settle for an R as P was already taken up by Penang. For Kuala Lumpur, the first series was given the letter W but since July 2016, it has changed to V.

Sabah got an S but this was only after 1963.

Before this, plates in Sabah began with E.

The letter Q was given to Sarawak at the same time.

Before this, its plates were distinguished by a number and then a D to denote the five administrative divisions followed by a number sequence.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 18
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Related stories:

Driving force of numbers

Vehicle plates , JPJ registration


Did you find this article insightful?


67% readers found this article insightful

Across the site