Four assemblymen lose confidence in Melaka CM, claim state govt has fallen

  • Nation
  • Monday, 04 Oct 2021

MELAKA: Sungai Udang assemblyman Datuk Seri Idris Haron and three other state lawmakers have declared that they have lost confidence in the leadership of Chief Minister Datuk Seri Sulaiman Md Ali.

The three others are Pantai Kundor assemblyman Datuk Nor Azman Hassan (Umno), Telok Mas assemblyman, Noor Effandi Ahmad from Parti Pribumi Bersatu and Independent lawmaker Datuk Norhizam Hassan Baktee.

Idris said both Nor Azman and him are willing to face any disciplinary actions from their party leadership for their actions.

The assemblymen claim that with this, the current Melaka state government has collapsed.

The Perikatan Nasional government came into power in March 2020 following the defections of four assemblymen from the previous Pakatan state government.

The four were Paya Rumput assemblyman Datuk Mohd Rafiq Naizamohideen and Telok Mas assemblyman Noor Effandi Ahmad - both from Bersatu - as well as Rembia rep Datuk Muhammad Jailani Khamis (formerly PKR, now Umno) and Pengkalan Batu assemblyman Datuk Norhizam Hassan Baktee (formerly DAP, now Independent).

Melaka has 28 state constituencies and Perikatan had the support of 17 lawmakers.

More to come

Article type: free
User access status:
Subscribe now to our Premium Plan for an ad-free and unlimited reading experience!

Next In Nation

Dr Wee attends CNY dinner organised by Negri MCA
Rapid Bus gets DBKL’s support to launch intermediate bus service
Selangor PBM dissolves wings and divisions across the state
Dewan Rakyat Speaker rubbishes claims son appointed as special officer
Dengue cases dropped by almost 18% last week
I sell food to support my three sons, says Emilia
Landslide: Jalan Persiaran Senawang 3 unsafe, temporarily closed
Feast of San Pedro in danger of disappearing if massive land reclamation allowed
Ismail Sabri refutes Umno suspension rumours
Thaipusam: Several roads to be closed in stages from Feb 3-7 in Ipoh

Others Also Read