New Cabinet ministers, deputy ministers sworn in before King

  • Nation
  • Monday, 30 Aug 2021

KUALA LUMPUR: New Cabinet ministers and deputy ministers were sworn in and took their oaths of office, loyalty and secrecy before the Yang di-Pertuan Agong at Istana Negara here on Monday (Aug 30).

The ceremony, which began at 2.30pm, was also attended by Raja Permaisuri Agong Tunku Hajah Azizah Aminah Maimunah Iskandariah, who was dressed in lime-green baju kurung, matching the ensemble of His Majesty.

Prime Minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob, however, could not attend the ceremony as he has been ordered to isolate himself as he was found to have been a close contact of a Covid-19 patient.

During the ceremony which lasted about an hour and a half, the ministers and deputy ministers were sworn-in and took their oaths in groups before the King.

They then proceeded to sign their instruments of appointment which were certified by Chief Justice Tan Sri Tengku Maimun Tuan Mat and Government Chief Secretary Tan Sri Mohammad Zuki Ali.

The first group of seven ministers comprising Datuk Seri Mohamed Azmin Ali, Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein, Senator Tengku Datuk Seri Zafrul Tengku Abdul Aziz, Datuk Seri Fadillah Yusof, Datuk Dr Mohd Radzi Jidin, Datuk Seri Dr Wee Ka Siong and Datuk Seri M. Saravanan.

The Cabinet line-up was announced by Prime Minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob on Friday (Aug 27), seven days after he took the oath of office as the ninth Prime Minister before His Majesty on Aug 20.

Ismail Sabri replaced Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin who resigned on Aug 16 after losing the majority support in Parliament and his proposed bipartisan cooperation was rejected by political parties.

The second batch of ministers was headed by Datuk Seri Tuan Ibrahim Tuan Man and comprised of Datuk Seri Maximus Ongkili, Datuk Seri Ronald Kiandee, Datuk Seri Hamzah Zainuddin, Datuk Seri Alexander Nanta Linggi, Datuk Seri Takiyuddin Hassan and Datuk Seri Noraini Ahmad.

Communications and Multimedia Minister Tan Sri Annuar Musa headed the third batch which comprised of Datuk Seri Rina Harun, Datuk Seri Reezal Merican Naina Merican, Khairy Jamaluddin, Datuk Halimah Mohd Sadique, Datuk Seri Dr Adham Baba and Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed.

Foreign Minister Datuk Saifuddin Abdullah headed the fourth batch which comprised of Datuk Zuraida Kamaruddin, Datuk Abdul Latiff Ahmad, Datuk Seri Wan Junaidi Tuanku Jaafar and Datuk Seri Nancy Shukri.

Federal Territories Minister Datuk Seri Mahdzir Khalid headed the last batch of the ministers which consisted of Datuk Seri Shahidan Kassim, Datuk Seri Ahmad Faizal Azumu and Idris Ahmad.

The deputy ministers too were sworn-in and took their oaths of office, loyalty and secrecy before the King in a few batches.

Ismail’s Cabinet has 38 deputy ministers but the Deputy Education Minister II Datuk Mohamad Alamin could not make it to the ceremony after testing positive for Covid-19.

The ministers and deputy ministers, some of them accompanied by their spouses, all were fully masked and the event was held with full SOPs.

Article type: free
User access status:
Subscribe now to our Premium Plan for an ad-free and unlimited reading experience!

Next In Nation

Amanah lodges police report against politicians who incite hatred
MetMalaysia issues thunderstorm warning for nine states
Green Steel Project in Sabah to draw close to RM20bil in total investment
No proof Pan Borneo Highway project worsening flash floods in Sabah, state assembly hears
More than RM2mil in aid for flood-affected breeders in Terengganu
Ex-bank officer jailed 10 years for trafficking his wife
Toll payments on DASH to start from 12.01am Dec 1, cars to pay RM2.30
Sabah teacher acquitted of cheating charges
King attends second day of 260th meeting of Conference of Rulers
Covid-19: Selangor records average of six deaths a week from Jan 1 to Nov 19, 2022

Others Also Read