Melaka Polls: Barisan wins 20 seats out of 28 contested, says EC chairman

AYER KEROH: Barisan Nasional has won the Melaka election with a landslide victory after winning 20 state seats.

“As of 9.42pm Saturday (Nov 20), Barisan won 20 seats out of the 28 it contested.

“It has succeeded in obtaining a majority of more than 50% of the seats it contested,” said Election Commission chairman Datuk Abdul Ghani Salleh in a brief press conference at the EC building in Ayer Keroh.

Abdul Ghani did not take any questions during the press conference.

The 20 seats Barisan won were Paya Rumput, Ayer Molek, Kuala Linggi, Tanjung Bidara, Ayer Limau, Lendu, Taboh Naning, Rembia, Gadek, Machap Jaya, Asahan, Durian Tunggal, Pantai Kundor, Kelebang, Duyong, Rim, Serkam, Merlimau, Telok Mas, and Sungai Rambai.

Pakatan won five seats - Ayer Keroh, Bukit Katil, Kota Laksamana, Bandar Hilir and Kesidang.

Perikatan only won two seats - Bemban and Sungai Udang.

The result for the last seat, Pengkalan Batu, has yet to be announced.

Article type: free
User access status:
Join our Telegram channel to get our Evening Alerts and breaking news highlights

EC , Melaka , Abdul Ghani Salleh


Next In Nation

Saravanan to iron out maid issues during Jakarta visit
King consents to RCI on Tabung Haji
Reps: No mention of polls
PM: All should accept SC’s findings
DBKL: Retailers given grace period to sell hard liquor
Living in the endemic phase
Most cases in Categories 1 and 2, says Health DG
Call to revisit Bill imposing heavier fines for Covid-19 offences
Sold out VTL-Land tickets put a damper on CNY plans
Second urine test was negative, DAP assemblyman wants further investigation

Others Also Read