Damansara parliamentary seat records biggest majority

Voters lining up to cast their votes at SK Bukit Damansara. -Starpic-

KUALA LUMPUR: The just-concluded 14th General Election (GE14) saw the Damansara parliamentary seat creating history when it recorded the highest majority nationwide with 106,903 votes.

Pakatan Harapan's Damansara candidate Tony Pua (DAP) won 121, 283 votes compared to Ho Kwok Xheng Barisan Nasional (BN) who received only 14,380 votes.

Another candidate, Wong Mun Kheng (PRM) got 617 votes.

The Damansara parliamentary seat is also the seat with the most number of registered voters, at 146,322 after the re-delineation exercise of the constituencies was approved by Dewan Rakyat last March.

The smallest majority vote was recorded in the Tasek Gelugor Parliamentary seat in Penang. Its incumbent Datuk Shabudin Yahaya (Barisan) was only able to defend the seat with 81 majority votes after winning 18,547 votes.

His challenger Marzuki Yahaya (Pakatan-Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia) and Rizal Hafiz Ruslan (PAS) each received 18,466 and 14,891 votes respectively.

Shabudin's performance this time was far different from that in GE13 where he won a 3,042-vote majority in a three-cornered fight.

Dubbed the most intense general election in the history of Malaysia, GE14 would also be remembered by all Malaysians when Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad was returned as Prime Minister for the second time.

He had previously served as the fourth prime minister for 22 years from 1981 to 2003. Dr Mahathir, who was 93 years old when he contested in the Langkawi parliamentary seat, was also the oldest candidate to contest.

Pakatan-endorsed independent candidate, 22-year-old law student P. Prabakaran, became the youngest MP when he defeated three other challengers to win the Batu parliamentary seat with 38,125 votes. -Bernama

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: -1
Cxense type: NA
User access status: 3

Next In Nation

Covid-19: 19 clusters detected, 11 linked to workplaces
Student seriously injured in accident while out to get Internet access for PdPR session
Covid-19: 60 fatalities bring death toll to 4, 408
Give priority to locals when hiring teachers in Sabah, says union
Teen among duo nabbed for allegedly stealing donation box at mosque in Melaka
Ismail Sabri: Action taken against 852 people for violating Covid-19 SOP
Clean drainage, better forecast system needed to mitigate floods in Sabah, says Kitingan
Ismail Sabri: Enhanced MCO for areas in Sabah, Johor and Pahang from June 22
Ismail Sabri: 113 factories ordered to close during lockdown
Covid-19: Vaccination passport may be introduced for travel after more M'sians inoculated, says Health DG

Stories You'll Enjoy