Akid back on track with new team

Coast is clear: Akid watching his opponents during the CP150 race. — Photo by Malaysia Cub Prix

PETALING JAYA: A switch to a new team finally did the trick for Mohd Akid Aziz as he rode to his first victory in the CP150 Round 4 race of the Petronas Malaysian Cub Prix Championship.

The 23-year-old, now riding for ONEXOX TKKR Racing, got his mojo back when he completed the 11-lap race in 15:03.215 at the Sepang International Circuit (SIC) North Track yesterday.

Early this year, Akid left Petronas Sprinta Yamaha-Maju Motor Racing and hopes were high for a reversal in fortunes but initially he was off the mark in the first-two races.

On Saturday, Akid finished 11th in Round 3 but yesterday, he blazed the track and started on the front row.

Akid showed that he has finally come to grips with his bike set-up and was able to unleash his full capability.

The TKKR rider stunned the paddock when he went from P7 at the back of the leading group to P1 to eventually cross the finish line.

In second place was Petronas Sprinta Yamaha-CKJ Racing’s Ahmad Afif Amran, who finished just 0.052 seconds behind with 15:03.267 while Petronas Sprinta Yamaha Maju Motor’s Nazirul Izzat Bahauddin kept his title hopes alive in third spot (15:03.391).

A seasoned contender in the category since 2017, Akid has always been touted as the favourite to win the title every season.

“The first two rounds had been tremendously difficult for the team. They were not used to my riding style and setting up a bike to suit my needs had proven to be more difficult than we had anticipated,” revealed Akid.

“I really must thank them for their continuous hard work and persistence because we finally did it!”


Round 4

CP150: 1. Mohd Akid Aziz (Yamaha) ONEXOX TKKR Racing Team) 15:03.215, 2. Ahmad Afif Amran (Yamaha) Petronas Sprinta Yamaha-CKJ Racing 15:03.267, 3. Nazirul Izzat Mohd Bahauddin (Yamaha) Petronas Sprinta Yamaha Maju Motor) 15:03.391

CP125: 1. Mohd Fareez Afeez Abd Rahman (Yamaha) Ipone Yamaha YY Pang Racing Team 12:43.707, 2. Mohd Aliff Danial Mohd Asri (Yamaha) Petronas Sprinta Yamaha Maju Motor 12:51.018, 3. Mohd Hafiza Rofa (Yamaha) ONEXOX TKKR Racing Team 12:52.183

Wira: 1. Danial Johan (Yamaha) Petronas Sprinta Yamaha-31 Racing 10:10.129, 2. Mohd Harith Haziq Zamri (Honda) Castrol Power1 Honda Team 10:13.141, 3. Mohd Irfan Haykhal Amidi (Honda) Moto1 Koyoko Honda KC Racing Team 10:15.761.


CP150: 1. Azroy Hakeem Anuar (Honda) Honda Yuzy Idemitsu Team 58pts, 2. Nazirul Izzat Bahauddin (Yamaha) Petronas Sprinta Yamaha Maju Motor 45, 3. Mohd Muzakkir Mohamed (Yamaha) ONEXOX TKKR Racing Team 42.

CP125: 1. Mohd Fareez Afeez Abd Rahman (Yamaha) Ipone Yamaha YY Pang Racing Team 74, 2. Mohd Adib Rosley (Yamaha) Ipone Yamaha YY Pang Racing Team 64, 3. Mohd Hafiza Rofa (Yamaha) ONEXOX TKKR Racing Team 61.

Wira: 1. Danial Johan (Yamaha) Petronas Sprinta Yamaha-31 Racing 76, 2. Mohd Aqil Danial Nasrul (Yamaha) Petronas Sprinta Yamaha-31 Racing 71, 3. Mohd Syamil Amsyar Mohd Iffende (Yamaha) Petronas Sprinta Yamaha-31 Racing 63.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 46
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Join our Telegram channel to get our Evening Alerts and breaking news highlights

Mohd Akid Aziz , Motor Racing , Cub Prix


Next In Motorsport

Motor racing-IndyCar's O'Ward living the dream ahead of McLaren F1 test
Rider makes podium twice, Azlan leads MSBK 1000 standings
Back with a bang
Motor racing-Formula One's record 23-race 2022 calendar
Damok eyes Moto3 Rookie of the Year title next year
Zaqhwan is fastest but will miss first race because of shooting
Superbikers rev up for hot weekend in Sepang
Slim ARRC season on the cards
Motor racing-Pitting was Hamilton's best option in Turkey, say Mercedes
Motor racing-Williams F1 team sets 2030 climate positive target

Others Also Read