Umno to activate war room in case of by-elections, says Ahmad Maslan

Photo: Bernama

KUALA LUMPUR: Umno will activate its war room at the six parliamentary areas held by Bersatu MPs who pledged support for Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim to prepare for the possibility of by-elections, says Datuk Seri Ahmad Maslan.

The Umno supreme council member said the activation would be done following Bersatu’s move to amend its constitution to immediately strip the membership of any of its elected representative who pledges support that contradicts Bersatu's directive or stand.

“We have faced several by-elections. Umno needs to be proactive by making preparations for any possibility of a ‘war.’

ALSO READ : Bersatu MPs ready to vacate seats over PMX support

“As the party’s chief of the war-room secretariat, I have instructed for the party’s office in the six constituencies to create a war-room to prepare whether or not by-elections will be announced,” he said.

Ahmad added there would be no problem for the Registrar of Societies (ROS) to approve the amendment of Bersatu’s constitution made on Saturday (Mar 2), similarly experienced by Umno when it amended its constitution to be aligned with the anti-hopping law.

“I do not see Bersatu facing any challenges getting the amendments being approved by the ROS, if they followed the procedure,” he added.

On Sunday, Umno president Datuk Seri Dr Ahmad Zahid Hamidi said Barisan Nasional is prepared to contest six parliamentary seats currently held by Bersatu if they are declared vacant.

Zahid said Umno and Barisan candidates should be given priority to contest in these constituencies.

On March 2, Bersatu held an extraordinary general meeting (EGM) to amend Article 10 of the Bersatu Constitution to immediately strip the membership of any elected representative who pledges support that contradicts Bersatu's directive or stand.

Bersatu president Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin said the party would send a report on the amendment to the RoS, and it would be enforced with immediate effect if approved.

The six Bersatu MPs who have expressed support for the Prime Minister are Datuk Syed Abu Hussin Hafiz Syed Abdul Fasal (Bukit Gantang), Mohd Azizi Abu Naim (Gua Musang), Datuk Zulkafperi Hanapi (Tanjong Karang), Zahari Kechik (Jeli), Datuk Iskandar Dzulkarnain Abdul Khalid (Kuala Kangsar) and Datuk Suhaili Abdul Rahman (Labuan).

Follow us on our official WhatsApp channel for breaking news alerts and key updates!

Next In Nation

GrabPay currently down, users unable to view ewallet balance, reload, or make payments
Media barred from covering Najib’s judicial review bid related to house arrest
‘Aidilfitri Madani 2024’ celebration in seven states begins tomorrow
Man, 61, killed on the spot in car-bike collision in JB
WhatsApp rolling out new feature to make finding messages easier
Tighter regulations coming for credit platforms, says Bank Negara
6,034 new contract teachers placed in schools nationwide, says ministry
National integration discussed with academics at Insap's Aidilfitri dinner, says Dr Wee
Floods: Two relief centres open in Selangor, one in Negri
‘Glad to help, we just wanted them to return home safely', say Ladang Bikam villagers

Others Also Read