GE15: Sun sets on a dynasty, Dr M loses deposit in Langkawi

ALOR SETAR: Former premier Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad has lost his deposit in Langkawi in the 15th General Election (GE15).

The Parti Pejuang Tanah Air (Pejuang) president only garnered 4,566 votes and came in fourth behind Pakatan Harapan's Zabidi Yahya (5,417) in third, and Barisan Nasional's Datuk Armishah Siraj (11,945) in second place.

Perikatan Nasional's Datuk Mohd Suhaimi Abdullah emerged the winner of the parliamentary seat after receiving 25,463 votes for a majority of 13,518.

Also losing their deposits were Pakatan candidate Zabidi Yahya and Independent candidate Abd Kadir Sainuddin.

The result means Dr Mahathir has suffered the second defeat in a general election throughout his long political career.

The first time he lost was in 1969 to former PAS president Yusuf Rawa in the then Kota Setar parliamentary seat.

Article type: free
User access status:
Subscribe now to our Premium Plan for an ad-free and unlimited reading experience!

GE15 , Langkawi , Dr Mahathir Mohamad , Deposit


Next In Nation

NGOs can help disseminate info about laws relating to domestic violence, says Nancy
Anwar: GLICs, GLCs play a role in realising Malaysia Madani concept
Dr Wee attends CNY dinner organised by Negri MCA
Rapid Bus gets DBKL’s support to launch intermediate bus service
Selangor PBM dissolves wings and divisions across the state
Dewan Rakyat Speaker rubbishes claims son appointed as special officer
Dengue cases dropped by almost 18% last week
I sell food to support my three sons, says Emilia
Landslide: Jalan Persiaran Senawang 3 unsafe, temporarily closed
Feast of San Pedro in danger of disappearing if massive land reclamation allowed

Others Also Read