Covid-19: Sabah bans visitors from five nations

KOTA KINABALU: Nationals from India, France, America, Africa and Brazil are prohibited from entering Sabah in view of the Covid-19 variant, said to originate from India, which is causing concern.

Chief Minister Datuk Seri Hajiji Noor said only Sabahans, their spouses and children are allowed to enter the state after a 14-day compulsory quarantine.

He also said all crewmembers of vessels, except Malaysians, with a travel history to India over the past 14 days are not allowed to sign off in Sabah.

The Malaysians concerned, however, are still required to undergo a 14-day compulsory quarantine.

This order takes effect on April 28.

Article type: free
User access status:
Join our Telegram channel to get our Evening Alerts and breaking news highlights

Next In Nation

Man aged 77 goes missing in Klang
Man dies in fall from 10th floor of flat in Butterworth
The Star is top English-language M'sian news portal in brand trust scores, says Reuters Institute
KJ hits back at critics of mixed-type vaccination
Sabah announces SOP for Aidiladha
Taxis, e-hailing vehicles can cross districts and states if passengers have approvals
Sabah increases efforts to prevent rabies following outbreak at neighbouring Sarawak district
Investigate allegations of Covid-19 vaccines sold to private groups, says MMA
Puncak Niaga's suit against Khalid Ibrahim will proceed for full trial
Covid-19: 24 new clusters, including 15 workplace outbreaks

Stories You'll Enjoy