Covid-19: No curfew in current state of Emergency, says Muhyiddin

PETALING JAYA: The Prime Minister has assured the rakyat that there will be no curfew or shutdown under the emergency proclamation declared by the Yang di-Pertuan Agong.

"Let me assure you that during the emergency proclamation, the civilian government will continue to function. The emergency proclamation by the Yang di-Pertuan Agong is not a military coup and a curfew will not be enforced," said Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin.

He added in a special televised address on Tuesday (Jan 12) that the Cabinet and state (governments) will continue to function according to the Federal Constitution and all laws.

"In terms of government administration, the proclamation by the Yang di-Pertuan Agong (will be issued) from time to time," said Muhyiddin.

Muhyiddin made the live address following a proclamation of a state of Emergency by Yang di-Pertuan Agong Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri'ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah on Tuesday.

The proclamation was made after a meeting with Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin on Monday (Jan 11).

Comptroller of the Royal Household of Istana Negara Datuk Ahmad Fadil Shamsuddin said in a statement on Tuesday that the Yang di-Pertuan Agong decreed that the emergency be in force up to Aug 1 or earlier if the number of Covid-19 cases can be effectively controlled and reduced.

Sultan Abdullah also consented to a government proposal to set up an independent committee comprising government and opposition MPs as well as health experts to manage the Covid-19 situation, he said.

"This Independent Committee will make recommendations to His Majesty if it deems fit that the emergency can be withdrawn much earlier (than Aug 1), ” said Ahmad Fadil

On Monday, Muhyiddin announced that six states will be put under a movement control order starting Wednesday (Jan 13).

In his address on Monday, Muhyiddin said Johor, Melaka, Selangor, Penang, Sabah and the Federal Territories of Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya and Labuan will be under an MCO until Jan 26.

Muhyiddin added that a recovery MCO will be imposed in Perlis and most of Sarawak.

He also said that three districts in Sarawak - Kuching, Miri and Sibu - as well as Pahang, Perak, Negri Sembilan, Kedah, Terengganu and Kelantan will be under conditional MCO.

More to come

Article type: free
User access status:

Did you find this article insightful?


73% readers found this article insightful

Next In Nation

‘Let non-govt clinics, hospitals join vaccine drive’
You can refuse to deal with anti-vaxxers, consumers told
Politicians counter dubious claims about vaccines
Fight the fake, vaccinate!
Cops to crack down on anti-vaccine instigators
Why I choose to be Covid-19 lab rat
Pahang Health director: Vaccine supply at HTAA has been exhausted
Malaysia calls for Suu Kyi’s release
Street filled with identity and folklore
18 get haircuts in support of hospital’s cancer fund

Stories You'll Enjoy