Amanah MPs to submit notice for no-confidence motion by Friday (Oct 16), says Mahfuz Omar

  • Nation
  • Friday, 16 Oct 2020

PETALING JAYA: Eleven Parti Amanah Negara MPs are racing to meet the deadline to submit their notices to Parliament on their motion of no confidence against the Prime Minister.

Party vice-president Datuk Mahfuz Omar confirmed that he will submit his notice via email later on Friday (Oct 16).

"I will email my notice to the Dewan Rakyat secretariat later this evening after I get home from Friday prayers. There is still time to do so as the two-week deadline for MPs to submit their notices and questions to Parliament ends today (Oct 16)," he said when contacted on Friday.

The Pokok Sena MP said that all 11 Amanah have been encouraged to submit their notices.

"We had discussed the matter and all Amanah MPs were encouraged to submit their notices. I am not sure how many have submitted but a large portion of us will be doing so," he said.

So far, five former Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia MPs, namely Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad (Langkawi), Datuk Seri Mukhriz Mahathir (Jerlun), Dr Maszlee Malik (Simpang Rengam) and Datuk Amiruddin Hamzah (Kubang Pasu) and Datuk Shahruddin Md Salleh (Sri Gading) had submitted their notices dated Oct 15 against Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin.

Dr Mahathir, Mukhriz, Maszlee, and Amiruddin were sacked from Bersatu in May while Shahruddin was sacked in July after abruptly resigning as the deputy works minister.

Shahruddin is no longer a Bersatu member.

Under the Parliament's Standing Orders, MPs are required to submit a two-week notice to the Dewan Rakyat of motions they intend to raise in the coming meeting which begins on Nov 2 and ends on Dec 10.

Gua Musang MP Tan Sri Razaleigh Hamzah in a letter to the Dewan Rakyat Speaker dated Sept 25 requested a guarantee that priority would be given to the tabling of a motion of no confidence against the prime minister in the upcoming parliament sitting.

Dewan Rakyat Speaker Datuk Azhar Azizan Harun responded to Razaleigh's inquiry, saying that government business takes precedence over Private Members’ Bills in the House.

In May, former Dewan Rakyat Speaker Tan Sri Mohamad Ariff Md Yusof allowed Dr Mahathir's motion of no-confidence to be included in Parliament's Order Paper before his removal at the start of Parliament's meeting in July.

However, Dr Mahathir's motion of no-confidence did not see the light of day as it was listed below in the Order Paper with government Bills and matters given priority.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Subscribe now to our Premium Plan for an ad-free and unlimited reading experience!

Next In Nation

Flash floods in Tawau after two-hour downpour, clogged drain
GE15: Penang, Selangor and Negri not dissolving state assemblies this year, says Anwar
PAS top guns to meet Saturday (Oct 8) on GE15
Radzi: Stressful for schools, teachers if GE15 held during flood season
Pakatan to use existing logo if GE15 called soon
Najib files judicial review application against Prisons Department
No 'water surge' near Gunung Pulai, says Johor Bomba
Three students sent to hospital after mercury spill in Penampang school
Federal Court rejects bail bid by contractor facing migrant smuggling charges
Report: Political appointees at ministries clearing out their desks

Others Also Read