Four-cornered fight for Cameron Highlands seat

CAMERON HIGHLANDS: It's on! The Cameron Highlands by-election set for Jan 26 will see a four-cornered fight.

Barisan Nasional's Ramli Mohd Noor, Pakatan Harapan's M. Manogaran and two independent candidates, Wong Seng Yee and Sallehudin Ab Talib, submitted their nomination forms to the returning officer at the SMK Sultan Ahmad Shah here on Saturday (Jan 12).

After a review, the returning officer Datuk Ishak Md Napis announced all four as candidates to their respective supporters.

Wong is a farmer and a member of the Cameron Highlands Agricultural Cooperative Association, while Sallehudin is a former lecturer at Institut Aminuddin Baki.

MyPPP president Tan Sri M Kayveas, who arrived at the nomination centre, withdrew from contesting.

Kayveas later told reporters that he would throw his support behind Pakatan.

The by-election was called after the Election Court declared Barisan's win null and void when they found there were corrupt practices committed to induce voters to vote.

The seat was won by Barisan in the 14th General Election, with MIC's Datuk C. Sivarraajh winning 10,307 votes against Manogaran's 9,710 votes.

Related stories:

Kayveas pulls out of Cameron polls, endorses Pakatan

Testing the waters in highland seat

‘Winning Camerons will affirm Pakatan’s grip on Pahang’

Barisan uses new strategy

MCA: Polls the best way to show displeasure

Cameron Highlands polls: Festive air kicks off nomination day

‘Report electoral offences like threats to police’

GE14 , Barisan Nasional , DAP


Across The Star Online