Bentong MP, 14 others found guilty over 2014 anti-Lynas protest

  • Nation
  • Friday, 06 Jul 2018

KUANTAN: Bentong MP Wong Tack and 14 others have been found guilty for their involvement in an anti-Lynas protest in 2014.

In delivering her judgment Friday, Sessions Court judge Unaizah Mohd said the prosecution had proven its case beyond reasonable doubt.

Wong Tack and nine others were found guilty for failing to obey police orders to disperse during the protest held at the Lynas Advanced Materials Plant in Gebeng here on June 22, 2014.

The nine others are Chong Kong Yuen, Raymond Ng Abdullah, Hew Kuan Yau, Thomas Wong, Ta Weng Seng, Rafar Ahmad, Lee Kai Ming, Tan Chee Hooi and Zamri Zainal.

They were fined RM1,500 each in default of 30 days jail.

Five other protesters - Phua Kia Yaw, Ho Kam Huat, Foong Poh Choo, Wong Chee Wai and Wong Chee Wen - were convicted for using force to breach a police barricade.

Ho was also guilty for using criminal force to deter a public servant from discharging his duty.

They were fined RM1,600 in default of 40 days jail.

Ho was fined an additional RM1,000 in default of 20 days jail.

The fine below RM2,000 meant Wong Tack's status as an MP would not be jeopardised.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Did you find this article insightful?


Across the site