Zahid Hamidi officially wins Umno presidency

KUALA LUMPUR: It’s official, Datuk Seri Dr Ahmad Zahid Hamidi has been elected as the 8th Umno President.

Dr Ahmad Zahid received votes from 78 divisions as of midnight (Sunday), announced Umno secretary-general Datuk Seri Tengku Adnan Tengku Mansor.

Khairy Jamaluddin and Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah, who were also in the running for the presidency only managed to receive 53 and 28 divisional votes respectively.

Dr Ahmad Zahid's number two will be former Negri Sembilan Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Mohamad Hasan as the deputy president.

Mohamad managed to receive 110 divisional votes against Tan Sri Annuar Musa who was also in the race who only got 47 divisional votes.

Tengku Adnan said there are only two official winners for the vice-presidents' posts as there is a neck to neck between a few contenders.

The two official winners are Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob with 146 divisional votes and Datuk Seri Mahdzir Khalid with 99 divisional votes.

"We can only announce the names of two vice-presidents because the third placing is still a neck-to neck (battle) and the gap is not too far.

"There are about 34 divisions where the results cannot be verified just yet," said Tengku Adnan in a press conference held at 12.20am Sunday.

He added the headquarters has received the quick count result but will only stick to the official results, which is expected to be known later today (Sunday).

The two contenders in a close race are Datuk Seri Johari Abdul Ghani and Datuk Seri Mohamed Khaled Nordin.

Tengku Adnan said that out of the 191 divisions, one has been problematic and its results will not be taken into account.

He said there had been some issues detected by representatives from the Umno headquarters at the Bakri division.

"We are waiting for the report from our observers but for now the result from Bakri is not taken into account," he added.

The Umno permanent chairman post has been retained by Tan Sri Badruddin Amiruldin with 152 votes but his deputy's post is still being verified.

The post of 25 Supreme Council members is also yet to be ascertained.

None of the winners were spotted at the party headquarters at Putra World Trade Centre (PWTC).

More than 160,000 delegates voted in the elections on Saturday (June 30).

Zahid Hamidi , politics , Umno , president