Perak MB to be awarded Datuk Seri title

  • Nation
  • Saturday, 19 Apr 2008

IPOH: Perak Mentri Besar Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin will be awarded the Darjah Seri Paduka Mahkota Perak (SPMP) in conjunction with Sultan Azlan Shah’s 80th birthday today.

The award carries the title of Datuk Seri.

Also receiving the award are Housing and Local Government Minister Datuk Ong Ka Chuan and Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Datuk Ahmad Zahid Hamidi.

The other SPMP recipients are Bernama chairman Datuk Seri Mohd Annuar Zaini, Bank Muamalat Malaysia chairman Datuk Ismail Shahudin and retiree Datuk N.S. Selvamany.

Heading the list of 773 recipients this year is Chief Justice Datuk Abdul Hamid Mohamad.

He will be awarded the state’s highest award, Darjah Seri Paduka Cura Si Manja Kini (SPCM), which also carries the title of Datuk Seri.

State Finance, Infrastructure, Public Utilities, Energy, Water and Non-Islamic Affairs Committee chairman Ngeh Koo Ham will be one of 28 people awarded with the Darjah Datuk Paduka Mahkota Perak (DPMP), which carries the title of Datuk.

Of the three recipients to receive the Darjah Seri Panglima Taming Sari, which also carries the title of Datuk Seri, are Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Musa Hassan, army chief Jen Tan Sri Muhammad Ismail Jamaluddin and Royal Malaysian Air Force chief Jen Tan Sri Azizan Ariffin.

The Darjah Datuk Paduka Cura Si Manja Kini (DPCM), which carries the title of Datuk, will be awarded to the state legal adviser Ahmad Kamal Md Shahid and Universiti Pendidikan Sultan Idris vice-chancellor Prof Datuk Dr Aminah Ayob.

Other DPMP recipients are deputy state secretary (administration) Mohd Jamal Mahussin, Kinta district officer Razali Othman, Kuala Kangsar Municipal Council president Mohd Shafie Arifin and state Drainage and Irrigation Department director Abdul Razak Dahalan.

The group also includes Malaysia’s High Commissioner to Namibia Hayati Ismail, United Plantations Bhd vice-chairman Carl Bek-Nielsen, Malaysian Bar Council president Ambiga Sreenevasan, Malaysian Institute for Road Safety Research director-general Prof Dr Radin Umar Radin Sohadi and WWF-Malaysia’s executive director and chief executive officer Dr Dionysius Shankar Kumar Sharma.

Among the four recipients of the Darjah Datuk Pahlawan Taming Sari (DPTS), which carries the title of Datuk, is Perak police chief Datuk Zulkifli Abdullah.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Join our Telegram channel to get our Evening Alerts and breaking news highlights

Next In Nation

Rapid KL apologises over 'open door' incident of LRT Kelana Jaya line train
Speaker denies getting more requests of seat changes in Dewan Rakyat
Forfeiture case: Najib and Rosmah's inspection of 11,991 jewellery items postponed
PAC urges govt to set ceiling price for private vaccine sales
Umno deputy president claims revocation of Emergency ordinances was unconstitutional
No action to be taken against 24 doctors from Klang's HTAR Hospital over Hartal participation
Malaysia to launch self-testing programme for Hep C
Businessman claims trial to allegedly cheating actor Fizz Fairuz of RM18,100
Two suspected drug addicts nabbed after car chase near Parliament
Sabah needs more CanSino doses, PPVs, says Kimanis MP

Stories You'll Enjoy