Celebrating 20th year of academic awards

  • Metro News
  • Tuesday, 30 Apr 2019

Yong Jian Sek (second from left) receiving the K.L. Palaniappan Memorial Award at SMK La Salle Brickfields 54th Prize Giving Day.

SMK La Salle Brickfields’s 54th Prize-Giving Day marked the 20th anniversary of the K.L. Palaniappan Memorial Award.

The award was initiated by Palianappan’s son Datuk P. Kasi in memory of his father who was a teacher at SMK La Salle for many years.

Three awards comprising cash prizes, medals and certificates have been presented yearly since 1999 to deserving students who have achieved academic excellence.

To mark the anniversary, some past recipients were invited to return to their alma mater and attend the ceremony.

They also shared their success stories through the presentation of short videos.

Others present included SMK La Salle Brickfields principal Chan Peck Fong, Board of Governors chairman Dr Mahendhiran Sanggaran Nair as well as Old Boys Association members Joseph Fernando, Dr Prem Kumar and V. Yogasingam.

The event ended with a photography session and refreshments.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 7
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

What do you think of this article?

It is insightful
Not in my interest

Across The Star Online