Ramdan flying ahead of Sunday’s race

Teenage Cub Prix rider, Mohd Ramdan Rosli topped the timesheets in practice on Saturday ahead of the qualifying and race proper at the Sepang South Circuit on Sunday. - Filepic

PETALING JAYA: Teenager Mohd Ramdan Rosli is on a high ahead of the penultimate round of the Petronas AAM Malaysian Cub Prix Championships at the Sepang South Circuit on Sunday.

The 17-year-old Petronas Syntium Moto Yamaha AHM rider set the record for the fastest lap in Saturday’s CP130 practice session with a time of 1:18.636 in his second lap to decimate the previous record of 1:19.309 by Yamaha Maju Motor’s Ahmad Fazli Sham.

The second fastest was Mohd Zaqhwan Zaidi (Givi Honda Yuzy Pachie) followed by Mohd Affendi Rosli (Harian Metro Y-TEQ SCK Honda Racing) with 1:18.697 and 1:18.710 respectively.

Others who managed to better the lap record were Affendi’s team-mate Elly Idzlianizar Ilias (1:18.746), Fazli Sham (1:18.896) and Mohd Fitri Ashraf Razali (1:19.058).

Jempol (Round 8) winner Ahmad Fuad Baharudin of Faito Yamaha Motobert registered second last out of 16 riders with 1:24.616 due to a malfunctioning gearbox.

“The team made a last minute set-up change and this helped us clock in half a second faster than the morning practice. They made a good call and thanks to them I could break the lap record so I am quite pleased with today’s outcome,” said Ramdan.

“However, the race weekend is far from over. I need to deliver the same pace if not better to secure a front row start in the qualifying tomorrow (Sunday). Based on past results, I don’t think it will be a walk in the park because the Honda teams are quite strong here (in Sepang) but I will definitely try my best,” added Ramdan.

Meanwhile, a set of new Dunlop tyres propelled Mohd Shariffudin Shamsuddin to the top of the CP115 timesheets ahead of 25 contending riders.

The Petronas Yamaha-CKJ rider set the benchmark at 1:21.725s - 0.505 seconds ahead of Mohd Izzat Zaidi Salehan (Motul Yamaha YY Pang) with 1:22.230s.

Third fastest was Sasitharen Sukumaran (M-Seki Liberty Honda Racing) with 1:22.410. Sasi also holds the fastest lap record of 1:21.692 on the 2.609km circuit which he achieved in 2011.

In the WIRA category, Amirul Hakim Mohd Rizal left the usual suspects behind as he clocked in the fastest lap time.

The MOS Track Pro Yamaha Racing rider topped the timesheets with 1:24.152. Trailing closely were Mohd Adam Norroddin and Mohd Rabilfirli Nooral Azmin (Faito Factory Racing) with 1:24.234s and 1:24.303s respectively.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Join our Telegram channel to get our Evening Alerts and breaking news highlights

cub prix , racing


Next In Motorsport

Motor racing-Saudi Arabia open to hosting two F1 races, says promoter
Motor racing-Britain's Dennis wins London Formula E race, Bird stays top
Motor racing-Verstappen crash cost Red Bull $1.8 million, says Horner
Motor racing-Right time, right place for high-flying Bird
Motor racing-Monza to host Formula One's second sprint race
Motor racing-Jaguar signs up for new era of Formula E
Motor racing-Hamilton's penalty was harsh, says Mercedes' Allison
Motor racing-Keep it clean, Brawn tells F1 rivals, but the fuse is lit
Motor racing-Hamilton might not have won without race being stopped
Motor racing-Hamilton subjected to racist abuse online after British GP

Stories You'll Enjoy