Call to open PAC proceedings to the public

Increasing access: As newly-appointed members of the PAC, Mas Ermieyati (left) and Wong are advocating transparency.

THE Public Accounts Committee’s (PAC) proceedings should be made open to the public, say the committee’s newly-appointed chairman and vice-chairman.

Chairman Datuk Mas Ermieyati Samsuddin and vice-chairman Wong Shu Qi urged Dewan Rakyat Speaker Datuk Johari Abdul, who is chairman of the Standing Orders Committee, to make the amendment to Standing Order 85 of the Dewan Rakyat.

“We believe PAC hearings should be held openly to ensure all proceedings are held in a transparent manner with accountability and credibility in line with institutional reforms which is the main focus of the current government,” they said in a joint statement.They said their first task would be to visit the Boustead Heavy Industries Corp (BHIC) shipyard in Lumut, Perak, to find out the progress of the Royal Malaysian Navy’s littoral combat ship (LCS) project, which should be reported to the PAC on a quarterly basis.

Mas Ermieyati and Wong also planned to meet soon with all ex-officio members of PAC from the Finance Ministry, Economy Ministry, Attorney General’s Chambers, Public Service Department, National Audit Department, Accountant-General’s Department and Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission to discuss the direction of PAC and related matters.The appointments of Masjid Tanah MP Mas Ermieyati and Kluang MP Wong to the PAC of the 15th Parliament were approved by the Dewan Rakyat via voice vote yesterday after Prime Minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim tabled a motion on them.

Mas Ermieyati is the second woman to chair the PAC after Datuk Seri Noraini Ahmad in April 2019.

The PAC usually includes six to 12 members whom a selection committee nominates. It has a Westminster parliamentary system for scrutinising the findings of public audits. The PAC can also call up ministers, the public, civil servants and other officials for questioning before the committee.

The Dewan Rakyat also announced the 10 bipartisan special select committees, consisting of nine members, to serve as better check-and-balances on the government.

According to the blue bill for MPs, Finance and Economy will be chaired by the former deputy finance minister and Paya Besar MP Datuk Mohd Shahar Abdullah; Health (former health minister and Kuala Selangor MP Datuk Seri Dr Dzulkefly Ahmad); as well as Entrepreneurship, Cost of Living and Agriculture (Rasah MP Cha Kee Chin).

Infrastructure, Transport and Communications is chaired by Tanjong Manis MP Yusuf Abu Wahab); Women, Children and Community Development (Bakri MP Yeo Bee Yin); Security (Ranau MP Datuk Jonathan Yasin); as well as International Relations and International Trade (Subang MP Wong Chen).

Human Rights, Elections and Institutional Reforms will be headed by Kota Melaka MP Khoo Poay Tiong; Environment, Science and Agriculture chaired (Sandakan MP Vivian Wong); and Nation Building and Education & Human Resource Development (Jempol MP Datuk Shamsulkahar Mohd Deli).

Subscribe now to our Premium Plan for an ad-free and unlimited reading experience!

Next In Nation

Bornean states are potential rice bowls for nation, says Mat Sabu
Ministers' political aides to jointly call for Radzi's suspension
They heard us: Dr Wee hails netizens' efforts after banks put off DuitNow QR fees
Anwar arrives at Istana Negara
SAR op for missing Indian tourist resumes
Budget 2024: Seeking Climate Action-focused Support
Floods: Number of evacuees rises in Kedah
Supporting the ESG Agenda for SMEs
Malaysia’s spookiest Halloween event returns to Sunway Lagoon
Investing in dreams: $100k seed fund empowers women entrepreneurship

Others Also Read