Muhyiddin to lead Perikatan shadow Cabinet

PETALING JAYA: Perikatan Nasional has unveiled its shadow Cabinet and its chairman Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin will be leading the line-up as the chief of its MPs.

In the shadow Cabinet, known as the Perikatan MPs portfolio committee, PAS president Tan Sri Abdul Hadi Awang will be Muhyiddin’s deputy.

Perikatan secretary-general Datuk Seri Hamzah Zainuddin remains as the Opposition leader in Parliament.

PAS secretary-general Datuk Seri Takiyuddin Hassan is the shadow home minister, while Bersatu vice-president Datuk Radzi Md Jidin is the shadow finance and economic minister.

Other notable appointments were Indera Mahkota MP Datuk Seri Saifuddin Abdullah as the shadow education and higher education minister, while Arau MP Datuk Seri Shahidan Kassim was appointed as the shadow rural and regional development minister.

Muhyididn, who spoke at a press conference at a hotel in Kuala Lumpur on Thursday (Feb 2), said Perikatan aspired to be an effective and responsible Opposition.

“Various briefing sessions regarding our duties and responsibilities have been held, where we gave explanations on the current situation,” said Muhyiddin.

Muhyiddin said the shadow Cabinet would have a research team consisting of experts to assist shadow ministers in improving their skills and also knowledge in their respective portfolios.

“They have a duty and responsibility to assist the country in solving issues,” added Muhyiddin.

Meanwhile, Muhyiddin said Perikatan’s secretariat would make policy statements from time to time on various issues such as the economy, education, environment, defence, security, and among others.

“We will table it (policy statements) so that the people know what we present ourselves to be.

“We are ready to take on bigger responsibilities if the people give us a mandate to lead the country again,” added Muhyiddin.

Among other notable appointments in Perikatan’s MPs portfolio committee were Pasir Mas MP Tuan Ahmad Fadhli Shaari as the shadow youth and sports minister, as well as Datuk Mas Ermieyati Samsudin as the shadow minister of law and institutional reforms.

Perikatan currently has 74 MPs, which is made up of Bersatu’s 31 and PAS’ 43.

Article type: free
User access status:
Subscribe now to our Premium Plan for an ad-free and unlimited reading experience!

Next In Nation

Sabah govt backs two events by Chinese group
Two civil servants among seven suspects nabbed for alleged drug trafficking in Tawau
TAR Institute launches new electrical wiring specialisation programme
No increase in foreign workers despite change in application process, claim business groups
Nine Ramadan hawkers get RM100 compound notice each for flouting health rules in Sandakan
Amnesty International calls for moratorium on death penalty to be continued
Father drowns after rescuing his child from a sinking car in Putatan
Hellish house-party: Cops nab 11 at drug-fuelled bash in Seberang Perai
Jasin mom pining for missing 16-year-old daughter
Guan Eng files defamation suit against Muhyiddin

Others Also Read