New Cabinet ministers to commence duties, attend special meeting on Dec 5

KUALA LUMPUR: The new unity government Cabinet will officially commence duties on Monday (Dec 5) and attend an inaugural special meeting chaired by Prime Minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim.

Apart from the meeting to set new rules, the two Deputy Prime Ministers and several ministers are also scheduled to clock in at their respective ministries in a symbolic act to start their official duties.

ALSO READ: Cabinet sworn in before the King at Istana Negara

Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Dr Ahmad Zahid Hamidi, who is also Rural and Regional Development Minister, is expected to clock in at 8am and is scheduled to attend a welcoming ceremony as minister after the special meeting at about 10am.

Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Fadillah Yusof, who is also Plantation Industries and Commodities Minister, is expected to clock in at his ministry at 8.30am and at the Prime Minister's Office at noon.

ALSO READ: Fahmi: Cabinet was determined by all parties

As for other Cabinet members, Health Minister Dr Zaliha Mustafa, when contacted by Bernama, said she would clock in at 8.30am, followed by a briefing session at her ministry before heading to the special meeting.

Also clocking in at 8.30am as new ministers on their first day of work will be Domestic Trade and Cost of Living Minister Datuk Seri Salahuddin Ayub; Science and Technology Minister Chang Lih Kang; and Natural Resources, Environment and Climate Change Minister Nik Nazmi Nik Ahmad.

Religious Affairs Minister Senator Datuk Dr Mohd Na'im Mokhtar said he would mark the symbolic moment when he clocks in at 9am with a prayer before attending the special Cabinet meeting.

ALSO READ: Cuepacs urges new Cabinet to work together

Digital Communications Minister Ahmad Fahmi Mohamed Fadzil is expected to clock in and hold a handing-over of duty session at 11am, followed by a press conference after the ministry's briefing session at 12.30pm.

Agriculture and Food Security Minister Mohamad Sabu will attend a meeting with senior ministry officials and will clock in at 1.30pm.

Defence Minister Datuk Seri Mohamad Hasan is scheduled to attend a welcome ceremony and begin his duties as minister at 2.30pm.

ALSO READ: Health support: Former ministers Khairy, Dr Dzul team up to back Dr Zaliha

When contacted by Bernama, several ministers said they would begin work officially after the special Cabinet meeting, including Works Minister Datuk Seri Alexander Nanta Linggi, who is expected to clock in at 3pm at his ministry here.

Education Minister Fadhlina Sidek, Higher Education Minister Datuk Seri Mohamed Khaled Nordin as well as Entrepreneur Development and Cooperatives Minister Datuk Ewon Benedick also said they will begin work officially after their respective ministerial meetings following the special meeting.

On Saturday (Dec 3), the two Deputy Prime Ministers and 25 ministers took their oaths of office before the Yang di-Pertuan Agong Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri’ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah at Istana Negara here. Bernama

Article type: free
User access status:
Subscribe now to our Premium Plan for an ad-free and unlimited reading experience!

Next In Nation

No water-borne diseases reported on Pangkor Island, says Perak exco member
Melaka’s St Paul’s Church in state of neglect
Anwar undergoes check-up at IJN
Malaysia confident of avoiding recession in 2023 despite global headwinds, says Tengku Zafrul
Crowd thrilled by Thaipusam chariot-lion dance procession in KL
Hajiji is now Gagasan Rakyat chief
Penang cops arrest two alleged triad members for extorting trader
US Ambassador wishes Happy Thaipusam to Malaysians
Alleged smuggler nabbed after high-speed chase in Tawau
Telcos can offer lower rates under Broadband Unity Package, says Minister

Others Also Read