GE15: Leong Cheok Keng quits PBM, to defend Malim Nawar seat under Warisan

IPOH: Incumbent Malim Nawar assemblyman Leong Cheok Keng will be defending his seat under Parti Warisan.

Leong said the decision to join Warisan was made due to several problems revolving around his previous party, Parti Bangsa Malaysia (PBM).

“Since we are approaching the nomination date for the 15th General Election, I decided to contact Warisan president Datuk Seri Mohd Shafie Apdal as PBM is currently dealing with several problems.

“To my surprise, Mohd Shafie accepted me though he had never met me in person,” he told reporters.

Leong added that he doesn’t have any issues with PBM besides the party’s leadership.

“While I never officially informed PBM that I wanted to leave the party, I believe due to the ongoing issue, they might know about it.

“My priority is my voters. I’m worried that if something happens with PBM, I’m left with no party.

“Hence why I truly appreciate Shafie’s gesture and looking forward to defending my seat at Malim Nawar,” he said, adding that he only made the call to Shafie just a few days ago.

In the 14th General Election, Leong contested under DAP and won with a majority of 6,082 votes against Chang Gwo Chyang (BN-MCA) and K.S Bawani (PSM).

In January, Leong was said to join PBM because his membership was terminated by DAP last year after he was suspected of joining MCA.

On Nov 2, it was reported that PBM’s top leadership, Datuk Larry Sng and Datuk Zuraida Kamaruddin had reached a consensus after a meeting about the party president’s post between the two was held at the Registrar of Societies (ROS) office.

Earlier on Oct 28, Sng suspended Zuraida’s membership along with 12 other supreme council members after she was said to receive support to be the party’s president, replacing Sng.

For Perak parliamentary seats, Warisan is set to contest four seats namely, Dr G. Balachandran for Gopeng, Mohamed Akbar Sheriff Ali Yasin for Tapah and Mohamad Isnin Mohd Ismail for Lumut.

Leong’s brother, Leong Cheuk Lung is set to contest the Kampar parliamentary seat.

For state seats, Warisan will be contested by Roshanita Basir (Sungai Rapat), Hooi Mi Suet (Simpang Pulai), Low Leong Sin (Teja), Ahmad Tarmizi Ghazali (Chenderiang), Noor Hasnida Hashim (Ayer Kuning), Nur Inderasyawalis Ahmad Mukhtar (Pasir Panjang) and Malim Nawar.

Article type: free
User access status:
Subscribe now to our Premium Plan for an ad-free and unlimited reading experience!

Next In Nation

Nine tow truck workers held over fight
Bus thief nabbed after crashing stolen vehicle into road shoulder
Sailing event will promote nautical tourism in Sabah, says Bangkuai
Friends, family and colleagues say goodbye to Sri Ram
Malaysia slips in corruption perception index score
Meet-up between senior Health Ministry officials and tobacco industry reps raises concerns, says MCTC
Former ustazah claims trial to severely hurting fellow teacher in fight
Former cop gets jail, fine for negligently causing colleague's death
No elements of nepotism, cronyism in the appointment of Nurul Izzah, says political aide
Nearly 90% of pending repairs at BSI CIQ in JB completed, says MB

Others Also Read