Covid-19: Five districts in Kedah under MCO from May 1-14

  • Nation
  • Friday, 30 Apr 2021

PUTRAJAYA: Five districts in Kedah will be placed under the movement control order following a spike in Covid-19 cases.

Kota Star, Kuala Muda, Bandar Baharu, Baling and Kulim will be under the MCO from May 1 to 14.

Senior Minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob said that over the period of 14 days, health authorities confirmed a total of 709 active cases in the five districts.

He said this was due to infectivity involving several clusters, which contributed to the increase in the number of cases.

"After a joint risk assessment with various agencies, the MCO technical committee with the advice of the Health Ministry has agreed to place these five districts in Kedah under MCO.

"This is to prevent further infectivity considering the use of public health capacity, laboratories and hospitals in Kedah has increased," the Defence Minister said.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Subscribe now to our Premium Plan for an ad-free and unlimited reading experience!

Next In Nation

Mercury spills: Sabah Bomba keen to help schools with proper handling of thermometers
All systems go for Budget 2023 at 4pm today, says KJ
Cops nab CCTV installer who burgled customers' offices in Puchong
60% of BN candidates in Johor will be new faces, 30% women, says Hasni
Remain vigilant during monsoon, Sabah’s maritime community told
Abang Johari: Sarawak to elect its financial secretary to sit on LHDN board
GE15: Hold concurrent state polls and save taxpayers' money, Pakatan told
High Court nod for transfer of Zizie Izette's review application
Mengkuang Dam to be converted from drought reserve to daily water source
Nearly RM8mil has been spent on flood mitigation, says Ipoh mayor

Others Also Read