Umno will not entertain Bersatu's request to negotiate seats it originally won in GE14

  • Nation
  • Monday, 15 Mar 2021

Datuk Seri Tajuddin Abdul Rahman. -filepic

PETALING JAYA: Umno will not negotiate with Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia (Bersatu) over the 15 parliamentary seats that it originally won in the 14th General Election (GE14), says its election director Datuk Seri Tajuddin Abdul Rahman.

According to Tajuddin, Umno has already decided that it will not back down from contesting these seats, as it traditionally belonged to Umno.

"Umno's stand is to take back all the defectors' seats. So, if we want to take it back, there will be no negotiations," he was quoted as saying by Malay daily Sinar Harian on Monday (March 15).

Tajuddin was responding to Perikatan Nasional information chief Datuk Seri Azmin Ali, who had told Sinar Harian that Bersatu intends to negotiate at least 13 seats with Umno.

It is believed that Umno and Bersatu relations have soured recently, as the two parties were not able to reach a consensus over the seats.

Azmin, who is also Perikatan election chief, was quoted as saying that it is very unfair to "bring down" the government due to disagreement in just 13 seats.

"That is why I want to take an approach where we focus discussions on these seats," said Azmin.

Commenting further on Azmin's remarks, Tajuddin said it is untrue that Umno is trying to bring down the government, adding that its decision to support Perikatan until the dissolution of Parliament was one that was made after thorough thought.

"We want to ensure that our party is looked after. When the party is looked after, then only can we serve the people," he added.

Umno vice-president Datuk Seri Mahdzir Khalid also said Azmin should have kept secret the ongoing negotiations taking place between Umno and Bersatu over the seats.

"If we want to talk, then let us (Umno and Bersatu) talk first. Don't tell everyone about it," he added.

Mahdzir also said confidentiality over seat negotiations should be kept until a consensus is achieved by both parties.

Umno had previously warned that it will defend all the seats that it had won in GE14.

The 15 seats that were won by Umno and later became Bersatu's are Jeli (Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed), Bagan Serai (Datuk Dr Noor Azmi Ghazali), Masjid Tanah (Datuk Wira Mas Ermieyati Samsudin), Larut (Datuk Seri Hamzah Zainudin), Hulu Terengganu (Datuk Rosol Wahid), Bukit Gantang (Datuk Syed Abu Hussin Hafiz Syed Abdul Fasal), and Mersing (Datuk Dr Abdul Latiff Ahmad).

Others include Tasek Gelugor (Datuk Shabudin Yahaya), Sabak Bernam (Datuk Mohd Fasiah Mohd Fakeh), Tanah Merah (Datuk Seri Ikmal Hisham Abdul Aziz), Beaufort (Datuk Azizah Mohd Dun), Beluran (Datuk Seri Dr Ronald Kiandee), Kudat (Datuk Abd Rahim Bakri), Libaran (Datuk Zakaria Mohd Edris), and Sipitang (Yamani Hafez Musa).

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Join our Telegram channel to get our Evening Alerts and breaking news highlights

Next In Nation

Covid-19: 5,446 new cases bring total to 2,678,465
Hospital staff charged with accepting bribe over funeral arrangements
‘Don't worry, our doors are always open,' PBDS tell Ali Biju
Sibu council to remove party flags, billboards that obstruct and endanger road users
Sarawak Polls: Local boy Royston wears his heart on his sleeves in the battle for Tellian
Defence Ministry has achieved all its 'first 100 days' KPIs, says Hisham
Sarawak Polls: No such thing as a sure win, I have to work hard for votes like everyone else, says Tiong
Plot to invade Sabah with 600 fighters involves '19 mayors' from southern Philippines, says security source
Malaysia the only country with long-term anti-corruption plan, says Transparency International
Perak lining up attractions to woo international tourists

Others Also Read