Prime Minister's Office: Economic Action Council welcomes two new members from Sabah and Sarawak

  • Nation
  • Monday, 30 Mar 2020

PETALING JAYA: The Economic Action Council (EAC) has agreed to appoint two top industry players from Sabah and Sarawak as members to represent the states, says the Prime Minister’s Office (PMO).

They are Datuk Bridget Lai @ Bridget Anne Chin Hung Yee, who is a banker in Sabah and Sarawak Bumiputra Entrepreneurs Chamber chairman Datu Abang Halmi Ikhwan.

This means that the EAC now has 13 members, the PMO said in a statement.

It stated that the EAC meeting today (March 30) gave special focus on the complaints and views from the small and medium entrepreneurs (SMEs).

“The SMEs are facing serious challenges due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

“To lessen the burden of tenants, all private or personal business premise owners are encouraged to consider giving discounts, delays or exemptions to entrepreneurs who are unable to operate their businesses, ” it added.

The statement said the Unit for the Implementation and Coordination of National Agencies on the Economic Stimulus Package (Laksana)from the Finance Ministry also presented a report on the monitoring of the economic stimulus package which was announced by Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 18
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Did you find this article insightful?


79% readers found this article insightful

Across the site