Pakatan says 114 MPs support Dr M, releases list of names

  • Nation
  • Saturday, 29 Feb 2020

KUALA LUMPUR: Pakatan Harapan declares that 114 MPs support Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad as Prime Minister.

In a statement Saturday (Feb 29), Dr Mahathir said Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin had mistakenly declared he had 114 MPs behind him when six of them were actually in Dr Mahathir's corner.

"The number he presented to the King was incorrect," he said.

All 114 MPs backing Dr Mahathir are expected to reconvene at Yayasan Albukhary to show they have the actual numbers.

Parti Amanah Negara deputy president Datuk Seri Salahuddin Ayub said 111 MPs had signed statutory declarations while another three had agreed verbally.

"So we have 114. We will declare our numbers in a peaceful manner and say that the earlier declared number was misleading," he said adding that the group had no intention of stopping Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin's swearing-in ceremony as the eighth prime minister.

Dr Mahathir also receieved support from Warisan, Upko, GBS and four independent MPs including Selangau MP Baru Bian.


Article type: free
User access status:

Did you find this article insightful?


Across The Star Online