Dr M's successor will be determined by majority support in Parliament, says Kadir Jasin

  • Nation Premium
  • Sunday, 09 Feb 2020

PETALING JAYA: The candidate for the eight prime minister succeeding Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad will be solely determined by MPs in the 222-seat Dewan Rakyat, says veteran journalist Datuk A. Kadir Jasin (pic).

While noting it was a Pakatan Harapan promise that Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim will take over as the next prime minister, Kadir pointed out that only the candidate who enjoys the support of the majority of MPs can be sworn in as premier.

Article type: metered
User access status: 3
Join our Telegram channel to get our Evening Alerts and breaking news highlights

Next In Nation

Covid-19 Watch: 1,918 new cases bring total to 4,575,809 Premium
The terrible ‘tooth’ of fake dentists Premium
Patients find dentists on social media – and live to regret it Premium
PM: Digital economy to add more than 25.5% to GDP Premium
Fake dentists keep mouths zipped Premium
Two men charged with killing their lovers Premium
‘A frog under a coconut view’ Premium
Ex-refugee’s knife-making skill a cut above the competition Premium
Cruise ships to be a regular sight in Penang Premium
Court rejects Zahid’s bid for stay Premium

Others Also Read