Ti among four sworn in as senators

  • Nation
  • Saturday, 11 Aug 2018

KUALA LUMPUR: MCA religious harmony bureau chairman Datuk Seri Ti Lian Ker was among four who were sworn in as Dewan Negara senators.

Ti, 55, and Umno’s Siti Fatimah Yahaya, 63, Kamarudin Abdun, 60, and Sabani Mat, 58, were appointed before Dewan Negara president Tan Sri S.A. Vigneswaran.

Vigneswaran advised the senators to carry out their duties according to their oath, while reminding them to defend the Constitution and uphold the Rukun Negara.

“I hope that you will conduct your debates accordingly in the Senate in the best interest of the nation and rakyat, and not on political policies,” he said when addressing the newly sworn-in senators yesterday.

Ti and Siti Fatimah were appointed by the Pahang state legislative assembly while Kamarudin and Sabani were appointed by the Perlis legislative assembly for a three-year term.

There are currently 55 senators in the Upper House, of which 32 are from Barisan Nasional and three from PAS.

The remaining 20 senators are from Pakatan Harapan, Gerakan, Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu, Parti Bersatu Sabah, Upko and community leaders representing the local Thai community, orang asli and persons with disabilities.