Liow: MCA to use own logo and not BN's for Balakong by-election

KUALA LUMPUR: MCA will use its own party logo in the upcoming Balakong by-election for the first time ever, says Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai (pic).

Describing this as a serious decision by the 69-year-old party, the MCA president said this was in line with the party's direction after the 14th General Election to "reform and walk the path of the party and the path for all."

At a press conference after chairing the party's central committee meeting here on Friday (Aug 10), Liow said the party would convey its decision on the logo to Barisan Nasional component party leaders later.

He also said deputy MCA president Datuk Seri Dr Wee Ka Siong would announce the name of the candidate at the right time.

Liow said they had short listed a few names as candidates for the by-election.

He urged Balakong voters to support the MCA candidate so that the party can provide a check and balance in the Selangor state assembly.

On its position in Barisan now that it is not using the coalition's logo for the first time ever, Liow said that MCA is solely focussed on reforming and strengthening itself.

While MCA, Ummo and MIC are the founders of the Alliance (which later became Barisan Nasional), Liow said it is time for individual parties to strengthen themselves first.

Nomination day for the Balakong by-election is on Aug 18 and polling is on Sept 8.

The seat fell vacant after its assemblyman Eddie Ng Tien Chee died in a traffic accident on July 20, 2018.

Barisan entered the 14th General Election as a 13-party coalition.

However, within one week after its defeat, four Sabah parties – Upko, LDP, PBS and PBRS – left the coalition.

On June 12, Sarawak Chief Minister Abang Johari Openg announced that PBB, SUPP, PRS and PDP would also leave Barisan to form their own state-based Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS) coalition.

The status of MyPPP within the coalition is in doubt due to a leadership dispute.

On June 23, Gerakan announced that it was leaving too. This left Barisan with only three component parties – Umno, MCA and MIC.