Shafie Apdal sworn in as Sabah CM, Musa seen leaving official residence

KOTA KINABALU: Parti Warisan Sabah president Datuk Seri Mohd Shafie Apdal was sworn in as Sabah Chief Minister at 9.30pm today (May 12) by the Yang di-Pertua Negeri Tun Juhar Mahiruddin at the Istana Negeri.

His swearing in happened less than 48 hours after Tan Sri Musa Aman was sworn in as Chief Minister.

The swearing in of Shafie as Chief Minister might trigger a legal constitutional battle as it appears Sabah has two chief ministers.

At 7pm, Musa had issued a statement that he had not resigned as Chief Minister.

At 8pm, reporters  arriving at Seri Gaya, the official residence of the Chief Minister, were not allowed to approach the house. Police on guard there said that Musa's staff were "packing up".

Five minutes later, Musa was spotted leaving the residence in his official car accompanied by a motorcade. 

When quizzed, the police on guard said Musa was not going to Istana Negeri and was possibly headed to his private residence.

At 8.30pm, police guarding Sri Gaya confirmed that the house was now empty.

Related stories:

PBS leaves BN, Musa Aman to leave Umno and join PBS

Musa Aman: I am still Sabah Chief Minister

Sabah Umno members expected to quit and join PBS to be more 'local'


Across The Star Online