Warisan now has 35 seats, Sabah Barisan state gov loses majority

KOTA KINABALU: Now with 35 seats, Parti Warisan Sabah and its partners DAP and PKR now has more than enough seats to form the state government, said Warisan president Datuk Seri Mohd Shafie Apdal. 

This follows the crossover of six Barisan Nasional assemblymen into Warisan which brought its tally to 35 from 29, which effectively means that the Barisan state government that was officially formed on Thursday (May 11) now has a reduced majority. 

At just 25 seats, Barisan chairman and Chief Minister Tan Sri Musa Aman no longer has command over a majority of the 60 member state assembly.

The ones joining Warisan are Datuk Abdul Muis Picho (Sebatik), Datuk Hamisah Samad (Tanjong Batu), Datuk Abidin Madingkir (Panginatan), Ewon Benedict (Kadamaian), Jamawi Jaafar (Kemabong) and Datuk Osman Jamal (Balung). 

This is a new twist of events as the Sabah state government was formed on Thursday night with the swearing in of Musa as the Chief Minister by Yang di-Pertua Negeri Tun Juhar Mahiruddin at the Istana Negeri.

Shafie is leaving it to the governor to swear him in amid questions over whether or not Musa will resign or remain.