Five Barisan assemblymen crossing over to Warisan, seeking audience with Sabah governor

  • Nation
  • Friday, 11 May 2018

KOTA KINABALU: Parti Warisan Sabah now holds 34 of 60 state seats, and will be informing the Istana Negeri of this recent development.

Five assemblymen - Datuk Abdul Muis Picho (Sebatik), Datuk Hamisah Samat (Tanjong Batu), Ewon Benedick (Kadamaian), Datuk Abidin Madingkir (Paginatan) and Datuk Bobbey Suan (Nabawan) - have followed Warisan president Datuk Seri Mohd Shafie Apdal (file pic) to inform the head of state about the majority at around 3pm.

The development came after Sabah Barisan Nasional chairman Tan Sri Musa Aman got himself sworn in as Chief Minister at 11.15pm Thursday.

According to legal sources, Shafie will have to ask Musa to resign as Chief Minister before he can make a bid for the Chief Minister post.

The sources said if Musa refuses to resign, the State Assembly has to be convened where a vote of no confidence has to be tabled.

According to the sources, Musa has the option of requesting the TYT to dissolve the state assembly to call for snap elections.

However, the sources said that the discretion will be up to the TYT.

It is unlikely that the TYT will allow for dissolution as the elections have just been completed and Shafie has obtained the majority.

As Warisan and its partners DAP and PKR, has the majority, he would invite Shafie to form the state government.

Earlier, Abdul Muis and Hamisah entered closed door discussions with Shafie and Sabah PKR chairman Christina Liew among others.

The potential movement will reduce Chief Minister Datuk Seri Musa Aman’s 31-seat simple majority to 26 seats as anticipation grows that more Umno and PBS assemblymen are expected to cross the floor by the day’s end.

Musa, with 29 Barisan seats, had claimed a simple majority of 31 seats with the endorsement of Sabah STAR president Datuk Dr Jefffrey Kitingan’s two state seats.

Yang Di-Pertua Negeri Tun Juhar Mahiruddin swore him in despite doubts whether Musa commanded or could hold the majority in the 60-seat state assembly.

Musa also included Dr Jeffrey in his 10-member cabinet.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Join our Telegram channel to get our Evening Alerts and breaking news highlights

Next In Nation

EMCO at two localities in Pahang, Perak ends on Saturday (Oct 16)
Perak destinations bracing for huge crowds
Sundra Rajoo files suit against Tommy Thomas, 12 others over alleged wrongful arrest, prosecution
Water supply in Klang Valley restored by 85% as of 6pm Friday (Oct 15), says Air Selangor
Najib's stay bid in 1MDB US$8bil civil suit to be heard next year
Adopting green tech in transport sector will help Malaysia achieve sustainability goals, says Dr Wee
Shorter quarantine duration for fully-vaxxed close contacts, international arrivals from Monday (Oct 18)
Sabah Speaker to decide on Warisan’s push for Sindumin seat vacancy after rep revokes pre-signed resignation letter
Look at health budgets as investment, not expenditure, says Khairy
High Court sets Dec 15, 16 to hear Indira Gandhi's suit against IGP and govt

Others Also Read