Rompin by-election: Early voting ends

  • Nation
  • Thursday, 30 Apr 2015

ROMPIN: The early voting process for the Rompin parliamentary by-election ended at exactly 5pm on Thursday after polling began at 8am.

An Election Commission (EC) spokesman said two early voting centres, namely the Dewan Seri Ibam of Squadron 322 of the Royal Malaysian Air Force (RMAF) and the recreation room of the Rompin District Police Headquarters (IPD), were closed at 5pm.

Two other centres – the Muadzam Shah Police Station and the information room of the Tekek Police Station, Pulau Tioman – were closed at 2pm due to the small number of early voters, he said.

He said all the 15 voters at the Tekek Police Station had discharged their responsibilities as voters.

As at 4pm, 460 early voters or 84.4 % of the 545 early voters had voted.

The early voting process was also witnessed by the agents of the candidates contesting, besides local observers comprising non-governmental organisations (NGO) and academicians appointed by the EC with the approval of the Malaysian Armed Forces.

The ballot boxes will be kept at the Rompin IPD and the counting process will begin at 4pm on polling day, May 5.

The Rompin by-election will see a straight fight between the Barisan Nasional (BN) candidate Datuk Hasan Arifin and PAS candidate Nazri Ahmad to fill the vacancy left by Tan Sri Dr Jamaluddin Jarjis, who died in a helicopter crash in Semenyih on April 4.

In the last general election, Jamaluddin retained the seat he had held for the past 23 years when he defeated central PAS Wanita head Nuridah Mohd Salleh with a majority of 15,114 votes.

A total of 52,744 ordinary voters are expected to cast their votes on May 5. – Bernama

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 7
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Across The Star Online