Chow returned as Penang DAP chairman

  • Nation
  • Monday, 02 Dec 2013

(BRIEF CAPTION): DAP members casting their vote during the 2013 Penang DAP ordinary convention at Georgetown City Hotel in Jalan Burma.//CHAN BOON KAI/THE STAR//(1st DEC 2013)

GEORGE TOWN: Incumbent Penang DAP chairman Chow Kon Yeow, who secured the most votes at 621 during the Penang DAP election, was returned to the post for the seventh term.

He will be assisted by deputy chairman Jagdeep Singh Deo and vice-chairmen Dr P. Ramasamy and Zairil Khir Johari.

Jagdeep came in second in the polls with 475 votes, while newcomer Zairil came in fourth with 362 votes and Dr Ramasamy ninth with 331 votes.

Chow, after announcing the line-up, told reporters that it was his first time coming out tops in the state DAP election, and thanked the delegates for their strong support.

Lim Hock Seng came in third (372 votes), while secretary-general Lim Guan Eng’s sister Lim Hui Ying finished in fifth spot with 361 votes.

State executive councillor Phee Boon Poh finished seventh with 336 votes, while former Pulau Tikus assemblyman Koay Teng Hai, who was dropped in the last general election, also made the cut by securing 10th place with 330 votes.

Phee, who celebrated his 62nd birthday yesterday, said the win was the best birthday present he received this year.

“I feel reborn. I was appointed as a committee member last term but now I can proudly announce that I have made it to the line-up through the ‘main’ door,” he said.

A total of 689 out of 1,121 eligible delegates attended the Penang DAP ordinary convention yesterday, which saw 46 candidates vying for a spot in the 15-man state party committee.

Elected representatives Danny Law, Chong Eng, R.S.N Rayer, Ng Wei Aik and Jeff Ooi were among the notable names who failed to win a spot in the committee.

Law, who is a state executive councillor, missed out as he was placed 17th with 288 votes.

Tanjong MP Ng, who is the incumbent state DAP secretary, secured 267 votes, while Chong, who was publicity secretary, only garnered 202 votes.

Seri Delima assemblyman Rayer also missed out as he was placed 16th with 289 votes while Jelutong MP Ooi only managed to rake in 120 votes.

However, Law, Ng and Rayer were later co-opted into the 20-committee member line-up with Bukit Mertajam MP Steven Sim Chee Keong and Sungai Pinang assemblyman Lim Siew Khim.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Join our Telegram channel to get our Evening Alerts and breaking news highlights

Politics , Penang DAP convention


Next In Nation

Bipartisan support sought for constitutional amendment over citizenship issue
Software engineer loses over RM1.2mil in Macau scam
Bently among three cars allegedly set ablaze to claim insurance payments
Reveal data showing MM2H participants are security threats, says Hannah Yeoh
Plan to allow football fans back in stadiums submitted to NSC, says Ahmad Faizal
Cops bust online gambling syndicate in Johor Baru, eight arrested during raid
Teenagers between 12 to 15 in Sarawak to be vaccinated starting Thursday
Melaka CM offers 'new deal' to Opposition in bid to transform state
Peter Anthony trial: Prosecution closes case; oral submissions on Oct 29
Elderly man dies in car fire in Kuala Lumpur

Stories You'll Enjoy