New CPOs for five states

  • Nation
  • Saturday, 30 Oct 2010

KUALA LUMPUR: New police chiefs have been ap-pointed for Kuala Lumpur, Se­langor, Pahang, Kedah and Sabah, effective immediately.

They are Deputy Comm Datuk Zulkifli Abdullah (Kuala Lumpur), Senior Asst Comm (I) Datuk Tun Hisan Tun Hamzah (Selangor), SAC (I) Datuk Sharifuddin Abd Ghani (Pahang), SAC (I) Datuk Ahmad Ibrahim (Kedah) and SAC (I) Datuk Hamza Taib (Sabah).

Former Police Training Centre commandant SAC II Amar Singh Ishar Singh has also been appointed as the new Kuala Lumpur deputy police chief.

Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Ismail Omar, who made the announcement, said the appointments were made at a meeting of the Police Force Commission yesterday.

“The appointments take into account the officers’ experience and level of expertise,” he told a press conference at the federal police headquarters in Bukit Aman here yesterday.

He said a total of 53 police officers between the rank of Supt and DCP had also been promoted.

DCP Zulkifli, who was Perak police chief, replaces DCP Datuk Wira Muhammad Sabtu Osman.

SAC Tun Hisan, who was Penang deputy police chief, replaces DCP Datuk Khalid Abu Bakar, who has been promoted to Internal Security and Public Order Director.

SAC Sharifuddin takes over from DCP Datuk Robiah Abdul Ghani, who has been made Director of Management.

SAC Ahmad, who was Deputy Director of Management, replaces DCP Datuk Syed Ismail Syed Azizan, who has been made Commercial Crime Director.

SAC Hamza replaces Comm Datuk Noor Rashid Ibrahim, who was promoted Narcotics Director.

Opinion: The placement of policemen

Nation , News