Three new Tuns head awards list

  • Nation
  • Saturday, 07 Jun 2008

KUALA LUMPUR: Malaysia’s squash queen Nicol David has been honoured by the Yang diPertuan Agong Tuanku Mizan Zainal Abidin in conjunction with his birthday today by being the first person to receive the Darjah Bakti (DB).

Nicol, 24, who is the women’s World No 1, is the first recipient of the award, which was established on June 26, 1975. It is limited to 10 recipients who have made significant contributions in arts, science and humanity on national and international levels.

Leading the honours list of 1,862 people were Chief Justice Datuk Seri Abdul Hamid Mohamad, former Chief Secretary to the Government Tan Sri Dr Ahmad Sarji Abdul Hamid and Gerakan adviser Datuk Seri Dr Lim Keng Yaik who were bestowed the Seri Setia Mahkota Malaysia (SSM) which carries the title Tun.

Former International Trade and Industry Minister Datuk Seri Rafidah Aziz, 64, is the sole recipient of the Panglima Mangku Negara, which carries the title Tan Sri.

Thirty others have been bestowed the Panglima Setia Mahkota (PSM), which also carries the title Tan Sri.

They are Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Datuk Amirsham A. Aziz, MCA deputy president Datuk Seri Chan Kong Choy, International Trade and Industry Ministry secretary-general Datuk Abdul Rahman Mamat, Treasury secretary-general Datuk Seri Dr Wan Abdul Aziz Wan Abdullah, Director-General of the Economic Planning Unit in the Prime Minister’s Department Datuk Seri Dr Sulaiman Mahbob.

Deputy Secretary-General (Cabinet) in the Prime Minister’s Department Datuk Mazidah Abdul Majid, Grand Imam of Masjid Negara Datuk Syaikh Ismail Muhamad, former Syariah Judiciary Department director-general and Syariah Court judge Datuk Sheikh Ghazali Abdul Rahman, Chief Judge of Malaya Datuk Alauddin Mohd Sheriff, Malaysian Qualifications Agency chairman Datuk Dr Muhammad Rais Abdul Karim, Universiti Sains Malaysia vice-chancellor Prof Datuk Dr Dzulkifli Abdul Razak.

President and CEO of Lejadi Holdings Sdn Bhd Datuk Dr Lim Ewe Jin, RAM Holdings Bhd deputy executive chairman Datuk C. Rajandram, Public Bank managing director and CEO Datuk Seri Tay Ah Lek, Malaysia Airlines chairman Datuk Dr Munir Majid, Tradewinds Corporation Bhd chairman Datuk Seri Megat Najmuddin Megat Khas.

Historian and Suhakam commissioner Prof Datuk Dr Khoo Kay Kim, former RTM orchestra conductor Datuk Ahmad Othman Merican, chief executive and managing director of Gadang Holdings Bhd Datuk Kok Onn, Tomei Consolidated Bhd Group executive chairman Datuk Ng Teck Fong, Tenggara Oil Bhd chairman Datuk Dr Kamal Salih, Khazanah Nasional Bhd chief executive officer Datuk Azman Mokhtar.        

Roman Catholic Archbishop Datuk Murphy Pakiam, World Assembly of God Fellowship vice-chairman and senior pastor of Calvary Church Datuk Prince Guneratnam, Melati Ehsan Holdings Bhd managing director Datuk Yap Suan Chee, former Air Force chief Air Vice Marshal (Rtd) Datuk Sulaiman Sujak, Deputy Inspector-General of Police Datuk Ismail Omar.

Businessman Datuk Chua Ma Yu, Institute of Strategic and International Studies chairman and chief executive officer Datuk Seri Mohamed Jawhar Hassan and Kelantan Umno chief Datuk Seri Annuar Musa.        

Fifty-one people receive the Panglima Jasa Negara (PJN), which carries the Datuk title, and another two were conferred the Panglima Setia Di Raja (PSD), which also carries the Datuk title.

Among the PJN recipients are Sikh Union of Malaysia president Dr Jasbir Singh, former Johor exco member Freddie Long, MCA Sabak Bernam division chief Kee Ah Kau, MCA Bagan Serai division chief Yew Tuan Chew, Penang MIC deputy chairman chief P. Subbaiyah and Hulu Rajang MP Billy Abit Joo.

Others who also received the PJN include BOH Plantations chairman Tristan Beauchamp Russell, Help International Corporation chief executive Dr Paul Chan Tuck Hoong, Kumpulan WSA Capital Corporation managing director Dr Wan Mohamed Wan Embong, Rehda president Ng Seing Liong. Principal Private Secretary to Prime Minister Datuk Mohamed Thajudeen Abdul Wahab, New Straits Times Press (NSTP) Group deputy chairman Datuk Seri Kalimullah Hassan and NSTP Group editor-in-chief Datuk Hishamuddin Aun.

The Johan Mangku Negara (JMN) is awarded to 21 people, Johan Setia Mahkota (91), Johan Setia Di Raja (1), Kesatria Mangku Negara (306), Kesatria Setia Di Raja (9), Ahli Mangku Negara (559), Pingat Pangkuan Negara (764) and Bentara Setia Di Raja (23). – Bernama

Related Story:Tuanku Mizan cautions against rising food prices, urges lifestyle change

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Did you find this article insightful?


Next In Nation

K'tan Deputy MB says media practitioners in state should be among first phase of Covid-19 vaccine recipients
Love triangle leads to man being arrested after abusing, robbing lover in Melaka
Lorry driver to hang for trafficking RM22mil worth of drugs
Covid-19: Sibu committee to propose EMCO for Zone 7 following surge in cases
Police record Abdul Aziz Bari's statement over remarks on Emergency, King
Hillside forest in Pulau Aman catches fire
Sabah's first batch of Pfizer-BioNTech Covid-19 vaccines due to arrive Thursday (Feb 25)
Covid-19: Eight new clusters detected, active clusters now at 509 in M'sia
PM should take heed of King's view and convene Parliament by March, says Pakatan
Caring School 2.0 programme launched to accelerate Malaysia Education Blueprint 2013-2025

Stories You'll Enjoy