New LRT lines approved

  • Nation
  • Saturday, 07 Jul 2007

KUALA LUMPUR: The Transport Ministry has approved the proposed alignment for the new light rail transit (LRT) line in the Klang Valley, its minister Datuk Seri Chan Kong Choy said. 

He said the ministry has also approved the alignments for the extensions to existing LRT lines which were proposed by Syarikat Prasarana Negara Bhd (SPNB). 

Upcoming landmark: Chan (left) viewing the model of the Permai Central Transport Hub as he is briefedby Equine Capital Berhad executive chairman Datuk Patrick Lim in Kuala Lumpur yesterday.

The proposal would be submitted to the Cabinet committee on public transport. 

Chan was speaking to reporters yesterday after the launch of the Permai Central Transport Hub at Pusat Bandar Putra Permai near Seri Kembangan which is located south of here.  

The Government had proposed the construction of a new LRT line between Kota Damansara and Cheras. 

It had also proposed extensions to the existing Kelana Jaya (formerly Putra-LRT) Line from Kelana Jaya to USJ and the Ampang (formerly Star-LRT) Line from Sri Petaling to Bukit Jalil and Puchong. 

The lines would be constructed and owned by SPNB, which is 100% owned by the Finance Ministry.  

On when construction would begin, Chan said it would depend on the Cabinet committee headed by Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak. 

On the Ipoh-Padang Besar double tracking and electrification project, Chan said the Government was currently working out the cost of recently revived project. 

He said this was being determined by his ministry, Finance Ministry and the Economic Planning Unit in the Prime Minister’s Department. 

Chan said the ministry was also working out the cost of expanding Ipoh’s Sultan Azlan Shah Airport. 

Last week, Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi made the announcement that the airport would be improved and expanded for more traffic.  

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 7
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Across The Star Online