Malaysians must pay departure levy from Sept 1

Crowd at the KLIA, Sepang. - Filepic

PETALING JAYA: Malaysians will have to pay a departure levy ranging from RM8 to RM150 when travelling out of the country starting Sept 1.

In a gazette published on July 31, Finance Minister Lim Guan Eng has fixed Sept 1 as the effective date for the departure levy.

According to the Departure Levy (Rate of Departure Levy) Order 2019, anyone leaving Malaysia for Asean countries will be charged RM8 for flights in economy class and RM50 for other classes.

For flights to countries outside Asean, Malaysians travelling in economy class will be charged RM20 while those in other classes will have to fork out RM150.

Asean countries listed are Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam. Under the Departure Levy (Exemption) Order 2019, it is pointed out that infants and toddlers aged below 24 months, pedestrians and individuals riding by themselves in any type of vehicle for personal use, including any passenger in or pillion rider on such a vehicle, will be exempted from the levy.

Exemptions include any crew on duty on board the aircraft and passengers in transit arriving at any international airport in Malaysia heading towards their next destination not exceeding 12 hours.

The order also exempts commercial vehicles operators carrying workers to an oil rig or platform, government vehicles carrying passengers from Malaysia, and water or land vehicles.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 0
Subscribe now to our Premium Plan for an ad-free and unlimited reading experience!

Next In Nation

Lorry driver pleads guilty to damaging ATM in Lukut, gets RM1,200 fine
SAR ops for missing army commando resumes in Melaka
Port Dickson court fines two loan shark agents RM3,000 for intimidation, five months jail
Sentosa Perdana residents see no end to litterbugs in their community
14-year-old girl missing in Ipoh, family say she's been gone since mid-December
Radical measures to spur the economy to be presented in Budget 2023, says PM
Foreign embassies not authorised to issue temporary visit pass for citizens to remain in Malaysia
Ambiga takes a dig at Anwar with ‘A green light for all Ministers to bring in family’ tweet
Puspen staff member, trainee charged with murder
Malaysia forms special team to coordinate humanitarian aid to Turkiye, Syria

Others Also Read