Four new MPKj councillors sworn in

The four new councillors serving in Kajang Municipal Council with Najmuddin (centre) are (from left) Muhammad Nashriq, Chandran, Suzanah and Ellia Aliza.

IT WAS a solemn and happy ceremony for councillors being sworn in at Kajang Municipal Council (MPKj) headquarters for the 2023 term.

Sun Kin Wah, who will be serving his third term, said this enthusiasm reflected the councillors’ willingness to serve their constituents despite the challenges.

“It is not an easy job.

“The allowance for a councillor is only RM2,500 but we have to be on call 24 hours and often have to bear the brunt of residents’ dissatisfaction as well as listen to complaints.

“You must have passion for the job,” he said.

The 2023 term saw four new councillors in Chandran Ramasamy, Muhammad Nashriq Zailan, Ellia Aliza Md Arith and Suzanah Hanim Wong.

The former three are from PKR while the latter is from DAP.

However, Chandran served with MPKj before between 2014 and 2016.

Witnessing the swearing-in ceremony were Muhammad Nashriq’s mother, Norhaizan Abu Ahmad, and Suzanah’s sister, Soraya.

When asked on what he would focus on, Muhammad Nashriq said he was keen on developing programmes for the youth and to fight for development issues, especially on environmental impact assessment studies by developers.

“I hope the parameters of such studies can be widened so that better flood mitigation measures can be more effectively implemented in the surrounding areas where developments take place,” he said.

The ceremony also saw Thiagarajah Rajagopal, 59, becoming the longest serving councillor since his appointment in 2013.

He said as MPKj was in the process of becoming a city council, they would need more experienced councillors.

He also pledged to help B40 students in Tamil schools by garnering support from private sponsors to ensure they are able to continue with their studies despite the challenging circumstances.

A total of 24 councillors were sworn-in by MPKj president Najmuddin Jemain.

Unlike the usual two years, the new appointments will only be valid for a year because of the coming state elections.

Also present at the swearing in ceremony were Bangi MP Syahredzan Johan and Balakong assemblyman Wong Siew Ki.

Subscribe now to our Premium Plan for an ad-free and unlimited reading experience!

Next In Metro News

Some 20 PJ residents' groups say in solidarity with 19 MBPJ councillors who staged walkout
School gets RM100,000 from rail developer
Shopowners want new exit to Kepong Entrepreneurs Park
Origami takes off with stunning fighter jets
More direct international flights to Ipoh being mulled
‘Jinjang Utara morning market needs makeover’
Party for special needs persons and their parents, teachers
Making Selangor top travel destination through cross-sharing visit to Terengganu
Alam Damai recreational park being upgraded, to be ready by August
Low-density project launched in Subang Jaya

Others Also Read