Sustainable concepts recognised at energy awards

THE National Energy Awards (NEA) 2022 honoured industry players for embracing and investing in sustainable energy practices.

Spearheaded by Energy and Natural Resources Ministry, the NEA recognises forward-thinking sustainable concepts and practices by Malaysia’s leading businesses in the renewable energy, energy management and energy efficiency sectors.

In its fifth edition, this year’s awards are aligned with Malaysia’s goal of becoming carbon-neutral by 2050 by continuing to increase industry participation and awareness of sustainable energy practices adhering to international standards.

With the support of NEA 2022, the country is one step closer to achieving the objectives outlined in the Malaysia Renewable Energy Roadmap (MyRER).

A total of 20 awards in three categories were open to Malaysian residents, businesses and organisations, including institutions of higher learning.

Twelve groups were chosen as NEA winners in the categories of energy management, energy-efficient building, renewable energy and special awards.

In Category 1 (energy management), Medivest Sdn Bhd took home the award for energy management of large buildings, namely Sultanah Fatimah Specialist Hospital in Muar, Johor.

CSC Steel Sdn Bhd won the industry award for its energy management towards efficient and sustainable operations.

In Category 2 (energy-efficient building), BGreen Consultancy came out on top for Kepong’s Tzu Chi Si Hall (large-type green building).

Meanwhile, Petaling Jaya City Council (MBPJ) won the zero-carbon green building category for its Astaka Sports Complex.

Concord Green Energy won first place in the renewable energy category for its project, Concord FGV Keratong 2 Biogas Plant: The R&D Centre of Excellence.

Tenaga Nasional Bhd was recognised for its PV and mini hydro project in Pulau Tioman (on-grid local grid type).

The winners were chosen following a thorough evaluation process.

The winners of Categories 1 and 2 represented Malaysia at the Asean Energy Awards (AEA).

The winner of the Special Awards in the Sustainable Energy Financing Category will be announced at the NEA 2022 awards ceremony to be held in March next year.

Energy and Natural Resources Minister Datuk Seri Takiyuddin Hassan said, “NEA will encourage more local businesses and corporations to embrace the ‘new norm’ in the electricity power industry.

“I hope that NEA will continue to play its role in identifying Malaysian organisations that can spearhead the development of the local and regional sustainable energy sectors.

“These achievements have also illustrated Malaysia’s efforts in driving the sustainable energy agenda,” he added.

Follow us on our official WhatsApp channel for breaking news alerts and key updates!

Next In Metro News

From small beginnings in Gedong, songket shines on global stage
Developer takes home five premier awards
Upskilling youth entrepreneurs
Repairs approved for damaged Ulu Tiram structure
Sibu school new president, committee vow to support alma mater
Food bank saves essential items from going to waste
Section 16 to have pedestrian spaces
Expo illuminates new technology
Clean-up of Sg Midah flood retention pond following fish deaths

Others Also Read