Rogue Bersatu MP Syed Abu Hussin says he didn’t resign, cites Federal Constitution

IPOH: Bukit Gantang MP Datuk Syed Abu Hussin Hafiz Syed Abdul Fasal says he is still a Member of Parliament as he did not resign but was instead expelled from Bersatu.

Referring to Article 49A (1) of the Federal Constitution, Syed Abu Hussin Hafiz said the constitution specifically refers to the three conditions for vacating a seat using the term he/she (dia), which specifically refers to announcements made by the MP themselves and not actions from any third party.

“In my situation, I have clearly and consistently stated that I am a member of Bersatu and that I support the aims and objectives of the party.

“Therefore, I will support any party that champions the aims and objectives of Bersatu, including from the Perikatan Nasional component parties and the government,” he said in a statement on Thursday (June 13)

Syed Abu Hussin Hafiz said this included efforts to assist his constituency.

He said from the explanation under Article 49 (A) it is clear that he did not violate the provisions that required the Dewan Rakyat Speaker to declare that the seat needed to be vacated.

“Bersatu amended the party’s constitution to expel me.

“Article 49A (2) (c) clearly states that my position as a Member of Parliament does not end when the party expels me.

“The amendment to Bersatu’s constitution was deliberately made to expel me.

“The validity of Bersatu’s constitutional amendment concerning the position of MPs is subject to the Federal Constitution, and not vice versa, and thus it (amendment) has no effect on my position as an MP,” he added.

Syed Abu Hussin Hafiz said he had confidence in the Speaker and believed that he would use his full wisdom to make a ruling.

He believed that it was not too late for Bersatu and Perikatan to set aside their personal interest and prioritise the interests of the Malays and Muslims above others.

“Let us together support Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim as the Prime Minister to ensure that the majority of the Malay voice moves from the opposition bloc to the government because that is the rightful position for the Malays, who are the majority population in the country,” he added.

Six MPs and one assemblyman had their Bersatu memberships revoked after failing to respond to a written instruction from the supreme leadership council to pledge allegiance to the party.

Apart from Syed Abu Hussin, the other five MPs are Zahari Kechik (Jeli); Mohd Azizi Abu Naim (Gua Musang), also the Nenggiri state assemblyman; Datuk Iskandar Dzulkarnain Abdul Khalid (Kuala Kangsar), Datuk Suhaili Abdul Rahman (Labuan) and Datuk Dr Zulkafperi Hanafi (Tanjong Karang).

Follow us on our official WhatsApp channel for breaking news alerts and key updates!

Next In Nation

Nur Farah murder: Evidence search suspended due to bad weather, say cops
Blogger 'Sang Kelembai' fails in bid to drop charge over offensive Facebook post
All set for installation of 17th King tomorrow, says Fahmi
Indonesian jailed two years for using fake MyKad for 20 years
Global IT outage hits banks, airlines, supermarkets
RTM to broadcast King's installation ceremony in Malay and English
King performs Friday prayers at National Mosque
Family appeals for help finding man missing from Inanam since July 15
Anwar’s presence at Sabah Barisan event shows unity, strength between Pakatan, Barisan
Unemployed PJ woman charged with possession of Islamic State-related materials, supporting group

Others Also Read