Voting for state polls, Kuala Terengganu by-election ends

KUALA LUMPUR: All 3,190 polling centres for the state elections in six states and 41 others for the Kuala Terengganu parliamentary by-election were closed at 6pm today (Aug 12).

Depending on the number of voters, several centres began to close in stages from as early as 1pm before polling ended at 6pm.

Once the voting centres closed, all the ballot boxes were taken to the 186 vote tallying centres and the official results will be announced by the Election Commission later tonight.

A total of 9,674,456 regular voters out of the 9,773,571 registered voters were eligible to vote in the six state elections today, which saw 570 candidates contesting a total of 245 seats in the state assemblies.

The Penang State Assembly has 40 seats, Selangor (56), Negeri Sembilan (36), Kedah (36), Terengganu (32) and Kelantan has 45.

Meanwhile, 122,160 regular voters in Kuala Terengganu were eligible to elect their new MP at the by-election.

The by-election was called after the Terengganu Election Court on June 27 annulled the victory of Kuala Terengganu Member of Parliament Datuk Ahmad Amzad Hashim of PAS in the 15th General Election (GE15) due to corrupt practices. - Bernama

Follow us on our official WhatsApp channel for breaking news alerts and key updates!

Next In Nation

Body of missing 20-year-old found on Kota Tinggi beach
Cops arrest teenager, three others for dangerous motorcycle stunts in Johor
The Internet’s journey
Accelerating IPv6 adoption: Gateway to next-gen connectivity
Biden drops re-election bid, does not endorse Harris as candidate
Some colleges stay mum when foreign students go missing
No room for corrupt officers
Suspected kidnapper arrested
Out to woo S’poreans with Borneo Fest
Students moved to High Commission in Dhaka amid unrest

Others Also Read