MACC chief among those in Sabah Governor's birthday honour list

KOTA KINABALU: Malaysian Anti-Corruption Agency (MACC) chief Tan Sri Azam Baki will be among the six recipients of the Seri Panglima Darjah Kinabalu (SPDK), Sabah's highest honour, to be conferred in conjunction with the 69th birthday of the Yang di-Pertua Negeri Tun Juhar Mahiruddin on Saturday (Oct 1).

Other recipients of the SPDK, which carries the title "Datuk Seri Panglima", are Sabah Deputy Chief Minister Datuk Dr Joachim Gunsalam, former Kota Kinabalu mayor Datuk Iliyas Ibrahim, State Assembly Speaker Datuk Kadzim Yahya, Sime Darby director Datuk Seri Lim Haw Kuang and Datuk Mohammad Noor Mansoor.

A total of 81 people have been conferred the state's second highest award, the Panglima Gemilang Darjah Kinabalu (PGDK), which carries the title "Datuk".

Among those are Chief Minister Datuk Seri Hajiji Noor's wife Datin Seri Juliah Salag, Deputy Finance Minister Yamani Hafez Musa, Sabah Commissioner of Police Comm Datuk Idris Abdullah, the Army's Fifth Infantry Commander in Sabah, Major Jeneral Abdul Rahman A Wahab, Eastern Sabah Security Command (Esscom) chief Deputy Comm Hamzah Ahmad, former Kota Kinabalu OCPD Senior Asst Comm M. Chandra and former Chinese consul-general in Sabah, Liang Caide.

Others are Assistant Minister Flovia Ng, Sebatik assemblyman Hassan A Ghani Pg Amir and nominated assemblyman Jaffari Waliam.

Also receiving the PGDK are Sabah Umno Youth chief Abdul Aziz Julkarnain, Sabah SME Association president Foo Ngee Kee, Media and Communications director in the Chief Minister's Department, Datin Lucy Yong and Daily Express chief editor James Sarda.

According to the list made available to the media on Friday (Sept 30), a total of 1,407 people will receive various state awards including nine receiving the Justice of Peace. Among them is Deputy Chief Minister Datuk Seri Dr Jeffrey Kitingan.

A total of 131 people will be conferred the Ahli Setia Darjah Kinabalu (ASDK), 246 will receive the Ahli Darjah Kinabalu (ADK), 319 will get the Bintang Setia Kinabalu, 393 will receive the Bintang Kinabalu while 222 will receive the Certificate of Honour.

Article type: free
User access status:
Subscribe now to our Premium Plan for an ad-free and unlimited reading experience!

Next In Nation

Stay united and prioritise the nation, says Nga
Appointment of Ahmad Zahid as DPM a betrayal of Pakatan voters, says Bersatu leader
Khairy congratulates newly-appointed successor, hopes she will uphold excellent public health system
I am honoured to be part of unity govt under Anwar, says Ewon on new ministerial appt
Cuepacs, MEF say Cabinet line-up possesses credibility, ability to work hard
Improve laws and women’s rights, says group
Sabah housewife loses over RM500,000 in love scam
Being appointed DPM a recognition for GPS, Borneo bloc, says Fadillah
Khaled helms Higher Education Ministry for a second time
Anwar hopes to restore economic confidence through new approaches in Finance Ministry

Others Also Read