Karangkraf named recipient of Hawana 2022 award

Prime Minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob delivering his speech at Hawana 2022 celebration in Melaka on Sunday (May 29). - Photo: Bernama

MELAKA: Kumpulan Karangkraf (Karangkraf) has been named as the National Journalists Day (Hawana) 2022 award recipient on Sunday (May 29).

After a two-year hiatus due to the Covid-19 pandemic, the Hawana 2022 main event saw Karangkraf, a media organisation of more than 40 years standing, bag the award, along with a trophy, certificate and RM10,000 in cash.

Prime Minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob presented the award to Karangkraf chairman Datuk Dr Hussamuddin Yaacub.

The recipient was selected based on several criteria, including being registered and producing excellent work of quality, in-depth analysis of issues, and impactful in the year of assessment.

The recipient must also practice good governance and journalistic values, contribute to the development of journalism and the media industry in the country, and their work must bring about human development, peace and prosperity.

Kumpulan Karangkraf made its first appearance in 1978, with the publication of Mingguan Kanak-kanak, and in 1990, expanded its business scope by the publication of books in several genres, through Alaf 21 and Karya Bestari.

In 2006, the group began pulishing the regional tabloid, Sinar Harian.

The media group now has 13 magazines, novel publication, printing, internet media channels and news reporting in its stable.

In 2015, the group started the "Malaysia Ngaji" programme, followed by the World #QuranHour campaign in 2016 and several spinoffs, including Malaysia #QuranHour, Merdeka #QuranHour and World #QuranConvention, that had a cumulative participation of around 2.475 billion people since it began.

In February 2021, the group introduced an aggressive anti-corruption initiative known as #RasuahBusters, involving media groups, individuals, organisations and private companies, and it currently has 550 strategic partners.

The Hawana 2022 Award aims to acknowledge and honour professional journalists, individuals or organisations that have contributed significantly, not only in the field of journalism but also in shaping the minds of Malaysians through published works.

May 29 has been gazetted as National Journalists Day, in conjunction with the publication of the first newspaper in Malaysia, Utusan Melayu, on May 29, 1939, which became the first media platform in the country.

The first time Hawana was held was on April 11, 2018, at Matrade Exhibition and Convention Centre in Kuala Lumpur.

The inaugural celebration, themed "Defending the Nation, Building the Country", was attended by about 1,000 media practitioners from all over the country.

On Nov 30, 2021, the government decided to retain the May 29 date annually as National Journalists Day. - Bernama

Article type: free
User access status:
Join our Telegram channel to get our Evening Alerts and breaking news highlights

Next In Nation

Critical for airline consumer rights to be enhanced, says Dr Wee
New initiatives for broadband service to be announced soon, says Annuar
Covid-19: Ops Patuh ends after Malaysia enters transition to endemic phase
PM congratulates Pandelela for winning bronze at world meet
Johor records 70.9% increase in respiratory infection cases, says Health Exco
MACC nabs siblings for attempting to bribe police with RM25,000
Don’t simply join WhatsApp groups, phone numbers can be misused, public advised
Five family members killed in crash with trailer
Engineer detained for assaulting traffic cop who issued him a summons
Malaysian Bar objects to an application for QC in Najib’s SRC case

Others Also Read