Physical voting set to be held again in eight PKR divisions

KUALA LUMPUR: Physical voting in PKR’s 2022 elections for eight divisions in four states will be held again before the end of this month and the unofficial results of the divisional polls will only be known thereafter.

PKR election committee (JPP) chairman Dr Zaliha Mustafa said the party had yet to finalise the dates for re-voting in the eight divisions involving Gua Musang, Pengkalan Chepa, Bachok, Ketereh and Tumpat in Kelantan, Dungun (Terengganu), Hulu Selangor (Selangor) and Padang Serai (Kedah).

Zaliha pointed out that the re-voting in the eight divisions was necessary due to several problems, including technical glitches, that occurred during the physical voting process.

“We have also received protests in several divisions and JPP is discussing and evaluating all the objections.

“If we have to do a re-vote, we will do so simultaneously for the eight divisions,” she told Bernama yesterday.

“Therefore, the unofficial results of the 23-year-old party’s divisional elections scheduled to be displayed on PKR’s official website have to be postponed and will only be known within 24 hours after the re-voting process in the divisions concerned,” she added.

Earlier, it was reported that the five divisions in Kelantan, and the ones in Dungun and Padang Serai had experienced technical problems during the physical voting process.

The physical voting for the Hulu Selangor division had to be postponed due to logistical equipment such as chairs and tables not being provided.

Meanwhile, Zaliha said 57 out of the party’s 222 divisions did not see contests for all divisional level positions.

She said 12.22% or 136,629 PKR members had voted in the party’s elections as of Sunday, including 76,932 who voted online from May 18 to 20.

A total of 1,118,423 PKR members are eligible to vote in the elections this time, with 11,282 candidates vying for positions at the central, divisional and wing levels.

Nominations for 20 posts still available in the party’s central leadership councils (MPP) as well as for the youth and women’s wings are scheduled for May 28.

Elections for the posts of vice-president and above at the central, youth and women’s levels are currently ongoing.

The official announcement of the winners for the central leadership posts will be on June 25 at the party’s annual national congress, while for the youth and women’s wings on June 24, at their respective annual congresses.

Incumbent PKR president Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim, who is also Port Dickson MP and Opposition leader, has won the president’s post unopposed.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 46
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Join our Telegram channel to get our Evening Alerts and breaking news highlights

Next In Nation

Teenager killed after collision with cement lorry in Papar
Dr Wee: Government doing its best to tackle global uncertainties
Covid-19: Sabah’s cases on the rise for 5th consecutive day
Govt urged to implement stockpile policy to address food crisis
Man gets early morning shock as car crashes into his house
Cops detain 10 teens over bullying at Perak school hostel
More Customs checks at M'sia-Thai border to weed out cannabis smuggling
More than 200,000 illegal immigrants repatriated under recalibration programme
B40 group in Ayer Hitam given food aid
DBKK looking at amending city by-laws to resolve stray dogs issue

Others Also Read