Travellers aside from eight countries allowed to join Langkawi travel bubble

PETALING JAYA: Travellers from other countries - aside from the eight subjected to temporary travel restrictions - are allowed to join the Langkawi travel bubble.

The eight countries are South Africa, Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, Zimbabwe and Malawi.

Health director-general Tan Sri Dr Noor Hisham Abdullah said apart from the need to conduct RT-PCR tests at least 72 hours prior to departure to Malaysia and on the day of arrival, travellers to Langkawi also need to undergo the RTK-Antigen (RTK-Ag) tests on the third and fifth day after arrival.

"For travellers who tested in Langkawi during the day of arrival on the island, they are allowed to stay at the hotel while awaiting results to avoid crowds gathering at the Langkawi International Airport.

“They will receive home surveillance orders (HSO) digitally via the MySejahtera application.

"Travellers from countries other than the eight subjected to temporary travel restrictions are also allowed to enter Malaysia to travel to states other than Langkawi by complying with a number of requirements," he said in a statement on Friday (Dec 3).

He said the requirements included the need to undergo mandatory quarantine.

He added the quarantine period depends on the vaccination status - seven days for those who have completed their vaccinations, or 10 days for those with incomplete vaccinations, as well as those who are not vaccinated.

"The place of quarantine would follow the approval given by the Home Quarantine Application (HQA).

“Those who did not receive approval to quarantine at home would have to make reservations at a hotel identified as a quarantine station under MyTravelSafe at

"Those who come from high-risk countries and undergo quarantine at home will be issued a digital tracker.

"The high-risk countries would be announced by the Health Ministry based on risk analysis conducted from time-to-time and the lists would be issued at all international entry points for further action," he said.

Dr Noor Hisham added that they need to undergo RT-PCR tests upon arrival.

"Those undergoing seven days’ quarantine would also need to undergo another test on day five.

“Those under 10 days' quarantine would need to undergo another test on day eight.

"A risk assessment would be carried out on these travellers on day seven or day 10 before they are released from quarantine.

"With this declaration, all previous announcements are nullified," he said.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 46
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Join our Telegram channel to get our Evening Alerts and breaking news highlights

Next In Nation

Buntong assemblyman says he quit Bersatu due to issues over non-Malay support
Dec 18 flood: Bad weather warnings ignored by those involved in Selangor disaster management, says PM
Two Johor assemblymen will not defend seats if state polls called
Covid-19: Two schools temporarily closed after 69 students test positive
No disruption in govt delivery system if Johor polls are held, says MB
Floods: Govt expresses grief over natural disaster, says PM
Art Harun turns down Opposition MPs' attempts to debate Azam Baki shares issue in Parliament
Police call for witnesses of SS14 road accident to come forward
Two dead, six missing after boat capsizes near Teluk Ramunia, Johor
Dec 18 floods: I was on the ground since day one, says Ismail Sabri

Others Also Read