Omicron: Travellers from several countries temporarily barred from taking part in Langkawi bubble programme

  • Nation
  • Thursday, 02 Dec 2021

PETALING JAYA: Travellers from several countries are temporarily barred from taking part in the Langkawi international travel bubble programme, following the detection of cases involving the Omicron variant.

The countries are United Kingdom, Portugal, Netherlands, Australia, Canada, South Korea, Hong Kong, Israel, Italy, Germany, Denmark, Sweden, Nigeria, Belgium, Japan, Brazil, Norway, Czech Republic, France or Reunion Island, Austria, Spain, Saudi Arabia, Ghana, Ireland, UAE and California in the United States.

The ban also applies to those with a history of having travelled to these countries within 14 days.

These countries are under the First Schedule.

Countries under the Second Schedule, which are countries at high risk of the Omicron variant, but have yet to report any cases are Russia, Georgia, Poland, Ukraine, Romania, Slovakia, North Macedonia, Guernsey, Croatia, French Guiana, the Philippines, Libya, Jordan, Bangladesh, Angola, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Travellers from these Second Schedule countries were also barred from taking part in the Langkawi international travel bubble programme.

In a statement, Health director-general Tan Sri Dr Noor Hisham Abdullah said residents of Langkawi, involving both Malaysians and those with long-term visit pass, from these countries and with history of travelling to these countries within 14 days, can only enter via KL International Airport.

"They are also required to undergo 14 days quarantine at the set centres before being allowed to continue with their journey to Langkawi. Direct flights to Langkawi are not allowed," he said.

He said the ministry was also carrying out a risk analysis based on a set of criteria of countries before they were allowed to take part in the Langkawi International Travel bubble.

"Among the criteria are the Covid-19 incidences and the immunisation coverage," it said.

On Thursday (Dec 2), there were 5,806 new Covid-19 cases reported, including 11 imported cases, while the infectivity rate is at 0.95.

Perlis has the highest infectivity rate at 1.09.

Article type: free
User access status:
Subscribe now to our Premium Plan for an ad-free and unlimited reading experience!

Next In Nation

Johor traffic cop who allegedly extorted Singaporean couple assigned to another unit
Malaysian wildlife traffickers hit with US sanctions
Budget 2023: Discounts, vouchers and rebates to boost domestic tourism
Budget 2023: Stamp duty exemption for properties priced RM500,000 to RM1mil increased to 75%
Budget 2023: More needed to educate people on scams, financial literacy, says Fomca
Jho Low no longer on Interpol Red List? It's fake news, say cops
Budget 2023: National Scam Response Centre a step in the right direction to curb scams, says IGP
Budget 2023: GST not part of this year's plans, says Finance Minister
Budget 2023: Civil servants to receive RM600 Aidilfitri aid
Budget 2023: KJ welcomes funding, says Health Ministry will focus on five areas

Others Also Read