Perikatan, Pakatan sign historic bipartisan MoU in Parliament

PETALING JAYA: The government and Pakatan Harapan leaders have inked the memorandum of understanding (MOU) on bipartisan cooperation on Monday (Sept 13).

Representatives from the government and the Opposition signed the historic document at a ceremony held at Parliament banquet hall at 5pm today.

A statement on the signing of the MoU was issued by the Prime Minister's Office and signed by Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob.

In his statement, Ismail Sabri said the government and Pakatan Harapan have charted a historic milestone by signing an MoU on transformation and political stability.

He said such bipartisan cooperation was in the spirit of Keluarga Malaysia, and in line with the Yang di-Pertuan Agong's Royal Address at the first sitting of the fourth session of the 14th Parliament on Monday (Sept 13).

The MoU covers these aspects: Empowering the Covid-19 plan; administrative transformation, independence of judicial institutions; Malaysia Agreement (MA63) and the setting up of Steering Committee.

Those who were present during the signing of the MOU were Prime Minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob, Dewan Negara president Tan Sri Rais Yatim, Speaker Datuk Azhar Azizan Harun, Port Dickson MP Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim, Bagan MP Lim Guan Eng and Kota Raja MP Mohamad Sabu.

Other MPs present during the signing were Ketereh MP Tan Sri Annuar Musa, Seremban MP Anthony Loke, Senator Datuk Donald Peter Mojuntin, Kulim Bandar Baharu MP Datuk Seri Saifuddin Nasution Ismail and Pulai MP Datuk Seri Salahuddin Ayub.


Article type: free
User access status:
Join our Telegram channel to get our Evening Alerts and breaking news highlights

Next In Nation

Rumah Bonda founder fails in bid to regain custody of one of her adopted children
PM: Asean can leverage on Russia’s expertise to combat cyber crimes
Court of appeal reinstates 12-year jail term for man who raped neighbour's daughter
Employers should attend disability equality training, says Ras Adiba
Dewan Rakyat passes Malaysian space board bill 2020
Hishammuddin: Malaysia, Indonesia committed to strengthen border control cooperation
Timah whisky issue: Society needs to be educated to think logically, says Azalina
Azam Baki appointed as member of IACA Board of Governors
Wan Junaidi: 18-year-olds can vote if Sarawak state election held after Dec 31
Plantation worker dies from lightning strike in Sibu

Others Also Read