Covid-19: 589 new cases, three deaths and four clusters linked to 13 longhouses recorded in Sarawak

  • Nation
  • Monday, 19 Apr 2021

KUCHING: Four new Covid-19 clusters involving 13 longhouses have been identified in Sarawak, as the state reported 589 new cases and three deaths on Monday (April 19).

The state disaster management committee said the Sungai Anus cluster involving a longhouse in Sungai Anus, Selangau, had 39 confirmed cases to date after the index case tested positive on April 9.

The Sungai Selitut cluster involving another longhouse at Sungai Selitut, Tatau, has 18 confirmed cases to date.

"The index case was detected through pre-employment screening at the Tatau health clinic on April 10," the committee said in a statement on Monday.

In Matu, the Sungai Passin cluster was detected involving four longhouses with 49 confirmed cases to date.

"As this is a high-risk area, the enhanced movement control order (MCO) has been imposed at Sungai Passin for seven longhouses, a primary school and a health clinic from April 12 to 25," the committee said.

The Sungai Duan cluster, meanwhile, involves seven longhouses at Sungai Duan in Mukah.

It has 84 confirmed cases so far, including the index case who tested positive on April 2.

The enhanced MCO has also been imposed in Sungai Duan from April 11 to 24, covering nine longhouses in the area.

Of the new cases in the state, Sibu district recorded the highest number with 133, followed by Bintulu (99), Mukah (82), Kapit (72), Kuching (44), Sarikei (31), Miri (30), Meradong and Tatau (16 each), Sri Aman (13), Selangau (11), Matu (eight), Kanowit (six), Tanjung Manis (five), Bukit Mabong, Serian and Pakan (four each), Samarahan (three), Subis and Dalat (two each) and Kabong, Song, Saratok and Julau (one each).

The committee said Sri Aman and Bukit Mabong were now red zones after recording 50 and 44 local transmissions respectively in the last 14 days.

This brings the number of red zones in Sarawak to 20 districts, while five are orange, 11 yellow and four green.

Red zones are districts with more than 40 local transmissions of Covid-19 in the last 14 days, orange zones 21 to 40, yellow zones one to 20 and green zones with none.

The committee also reiterated Chief Minister Datuk Patinggi Abang Johari Tun Openg's announcement earlier Monday that all educational institutions in red zones will be closed from April 20 to May 3.

"This includes childcare centres, kindergartens, primary schools, secondary schools, polytechnics, universities and tuition centres.

"Only SPM and STPM candidates are allowed to go to school to sit for the exams," it said.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Subscribe now to our Premium Plan for an ad-free and unlimited reading experience!

Next In Nation

Seven foreigners among 135 World Cup bookies nabbed, say Selangor cops
Technician jailed six months for threatening to expose ex-girlfriend's nude photos
Rosmah’s appeal over judicial review challenge on Sri Ram’s appointment fixed for May 18
Focus is on WST2040, making water sector economic source, says Nik Nazmi
Labourer fined RM23,000 for beating dog
Extreme high tides forecast until Dec 11
Bella case: Court sets Jan 4 to hear prosecution’s preliminary objection on Siti Bainun’s application to review charges
Cops seize over RM13mil worth of syabu, arrest four men in Putrajaya
Speculation abounds of Sabah Bersatu members transiting into GRS
Anwar receives courtesy call from Thai DPM

Others Also Read