Terengganu's Sultan Mizan chairs meeting to elect new King

  • Nation
  • Thursday, 24 Jan 2019

KUALA LUMPUR (Bernama): The Sultan of Terengganu, Sultan Mizan Zainal Abidin, is chairing the special meeting of the Conference of Rulers at Istana Negara to elect the 16th Yang di-Pertuan  Agong and the Timbalan (Deputy) Yang di-Pertuan Agong on Jan 24.

The meeting, which began at 11.15 am, was attended by eight of the nine Malay Rulers.

The Sultan of Kelantan, Sultan Muhammad V, who resigned as the 15th Yang di-Pertuan Agong on Jan 6, did not attend the meeting.

Besides Sultan Mizan, the other Malay Rulers in attendance were the Sultan of Perak, Sultan Nazrin Shah; Sultan of Johor, Sultan Ibrahim Almarhum Sultan Iskandar; Sultan of Kedah, Sultan Sallehuddin Ibni Almarhum Sultan Badlishah; Raja of Perlis, Tuanku Syed Sirajuddin Putra Jamalullail.

Sultan of Pahang, Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri'ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah Ibni Sultan Haji Ahmad Shah Al Musta'in Billah; Sultan of Selangor, Sultan Sharafuddin Idris Shah; and Yang Dipertuan Besar of Negeri Sembilan, Tuanku Muhriz Ibni Almarhum Tuanku Munawir.

The election is to fill the vacancy in the office of the Yang di-Pertuan Agong following the resignation of Sultan Muhammad V as the 15th Yang di-Pertuan Agong.

Currently, the Sultan of Perak, Sultan Nazrin Shah, who is the Deputy Yang di-Pertuan Agong, is discharging the duties of the Yang di-Pertuan Agong. – Bernama

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Did you find this article insightful?


Across the site