Sabah Cabinet has three new ministries, including Laws and Native Affairs

  • Nation
  • Thursday, 17 May 2018

KOTA KINABALU: Three new ministries have been created, with two party leaders holding parliamentary seats appointed to the state Cabinet.

The surprise appointment was Upko acting president Datuk Seri Wilfred Madius Tangau as Deputy Chief Minister to represent the non-Muslim bumiputra, and Sabah DAP chairman Stephen Wong as the new Health and People’s Wellbeing Minister.

Madius, who is also Tuaran MP, and Wong, who is the Sandakan MP, were included in the state assembly under the Sabah constitution, which allows the appointment of six nomi­nated assemblymen.

The other two new ministries are Education and Innovation, headed by Warisan’s Sindumin assemblyman Datuk Dr Yusuf Yaacob, and Laws and Native Affairs led by Warisan’s Pantai Manis assemblyman Datuk Aidi Mokhtar. Aidi is a former Syariah court judge.

Other than Madius, Sabah PKR chairman Christina Liew and Warisan vice-president Datuk Jaujan Sambakong were appointed Deputy Chief Ministers for the Chinese (Liew) and Muslim bumiputra (Jaujan) respectively.

The 10-member Cabinet was sworn in at Istana Negeri by Yang di-Pertua Negri Tun Juhar Mahiruddin.

The others include Warisan vice-­president Junz Wong (Agriculture and Food Industry), Warisan vice-president Peter Anthony (Infrastructure Develop­ment), Sabah DAP’s Tanjung Papat assemblyman Poon Ming Fung (Youth and Sports), and Upko’s Kadamaian assemblyman Ewon Benedict (Rural Development).

Chief Minister Datuk Seri Mohd Shafie Apdal will take over the Finance portfolio. A total of 18 assistant ministers were also sworn in.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 18
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Politics , Tangau


Did you find this article insightful?


Across the site